Oregon is counting votes in the coming days—on May 20, to be exact—to find out who voters want running their local government, and which candidates they want to see facing off in the general election this fall.

Be one of those voters.

Mail-in ballots must be in the hands of county elections officials by 8 pm on May 20. Drop them off in person if you must. 

We're here to make it all easier. Our endorsements for the 2014 primary election appear below.

WW offers recommendations only in competitive races and for ballot measures. Unlike other news outlets, we do so after inviting all candidates and campaigns to our offices to present their views. For more details about how we made our decisions—and to watch videos of the endorsement interviews—go here.

Here's our list.

U.S. Senate

Republican: Jason Conger

Democrat: Jeff Merkley

U.S. House of Representatives

1st District, Republican: Delinda Delgado Morgan

5th District, Democrat: Kurt Schrader

5th District, Republican: Ben Pollock


Republican primary: Dennis Richardson

Oregon House of Representatives

District 34, Democrat: Ken Helm

District 41, Democrat: Deborah Barnes

District 42, Democrat: Rob Nosse

District 44, Democrat: Tina Kotek

District 45, Democrat: Barbara Smith Warner

District 50, Democrat: Carla Piluso

District 51, Republican: Jodi Bailey

Metro Council

President, nonpartisan: Tom Hughes

Multnomah County Board of Commissioners

Chair, nonpartisan: Deborah Kafoury

Commissioner, District 1, nonpartisan: Jules Bailey

Commissioner, District 2, nonpartisan: Loretta Smith

City of Portland

Commissioner, Position 2, nonpartisan: Nick Fish

Commissioner, Position 3, nonpartisan: Dan Saltzman

Measure 26-156, creates an independent water district: No