Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Cart Reviews
 

Food Cart Review: Retrolicious


Food Cart Reviews
Kimberly and Roy Swope, owners of Retrolicious, believe the emotional benefits of comfort food outweigh the caloric costs. Roy’s father worked for an oil company, so he spent an itinerant childh   More
 
Wednesday, August 8, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Minizo


Food Cart Reviews
Minizo’s Munny population has exploded. The colony of vinyl toys was kept in check when the cart was downtown. But Minizo is now on Northeast Alberta Street, where a shop sells the toys around t   More
 
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Salmon Fusion


Food Cart Reviews
Roger Mumm caught too many fish. From the frigid Alaskan waters of Bristol Bay, he pulled more than 6,000 pounds of salmon. Mumm—whose frosted tips and perma-tan make him look more like a surf   More
 
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Cake on a Hot Tin Roof


Food Cart Reviews
It’s hard to miss the pink-and-yellow Winnebago at the Northeast corner of Cartlandia. It looks like something out of a children’s book. With her rosy cheeks and white hair, Jennie Goodrich,   More
 
Wednesday, May 30, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Fried Egg I’m In Love


Food Cart Reviews
Which comes first, the pun or the menu? “We knew we wanted to do breakfast,” says the guy inside the bright-yellow Fried Egg I’m in Love cart on Hawthorne. “We thought about something NP   More
 
Wednesday, May 16, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Angel's Cabana


Food Cart Reviews
Believe it or not, some people still saunter up to food carts with Spanish names expecting tacos. Take it from Angel Villalvir, owner and chef of Angel’s Cabana. “Everyone expects to see tacos   More
 
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 PENELOPE BASS

Kindle Kart


Food Cart Reviews
It took three attempts finally to sample the wares of this anonymous white truck parked across the street from the entrance to the Montgomery Park complex. Twice we trekked the mile from our offic   More
 
Wednesday, April 25, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Chowdah


Food Cart Reviews
Clam chowder generates strong opinions. Adding tomatoes to clam chowder in place of cream (making it “Manhattan-style”) was at one point so contentious that, in 1939, the Maine state Legislatu   More
 
Wednesday, April 18, 2012 PENELOPE BASS

Run Chicken Run


Food Cart Reviews
The best bird at Run Chicken Run is painted, not plated. Does any Portland food cart have better art than the man-sized rooster scurrying across this trailer’s wall? A vibration of bright colors   More
 
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

These Guys Brooklyn


Food Cart Reviews
Who has two thumbs, bad-ass heavy-metal beards and huge piles of smoked meat? These Guys Brooklyn. The titular guys are hirsute co-owners David Enfield and Ben Hildreth, who serve smoked pork an   More
 
Wednesday, April 4, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close