Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Cart Reviews

Kindle Kart

Food Cart Reviews
It took three attempts finally to sample the wares of this anonymous white truck parked across the street from the entrance to the Montgomery Park complex. Twice we trekked the mile from our offic   More
Wednesday, April 25, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE


Food Cart Reviews
Clam chowder generates strong opinions. Adding tomatoes to clam chowder in place of cream (making it “Manhattan-style”) was at one point so contentious that, in 1939, the Maine state Legislatu   More
Wednesday, April 18, 2012 PENELOPE BASS

Run Chicken Run

Food Cart Reviews
The best bird at Run Chicken Run is painted, not plated. Does any Portland food cart have better art than the man-sized rooster scurrying across this trailer’s wall? A vibration of bright colors   More
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

These Guys Brooklyn

Food Cart Reviews
Who has two thumbs, bad-ass heavy-metal beards and huge piles of smoked meat? These Guys Brooklyn. The titular guys are hirsute co-owners David Enfield and Ben Hildreth, who serve smoked pork an   More
Wednesday, April 4, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Tex Mix

What Austin food trucks have that Portland food carts don’t.

Food Cart Reviews
The Austin food-cart scene is not all steak, tacos and steak tacos. In fact, on my visit to what’s often considered the nation’s No. 2 food-cart town (Portland is tops, natch), I even found a    More
Wednesday, March 21, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Food Cart Review: Polish Kitchen

Food Cart Reviews
What do Poles eat during the summer? The Polish fare familiar stateside is heavily skewed toward cured meats and root vegetables—foods that are hard to imagine enjoying on Baltic beaches. I ca   More
Wednesday, February 8, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Food Cart Review: Batavia

Food Cart Reviews
There’s a great cup of coffee in Portland that costs only 75 cents. It’s light, sweet and has an earthy flavor that makes it the perfect accompaniment for an afternoon meal of meat and peanu   More
Wednesday, January 11, 2012 PATRICIA SAUTHOFF

Food Cart Review: Hot Bikini Brew

Food Cart Reviews
Is a coffee kiosk staffed entirely by hot chicks in bikinis a tasteless and degrading enterprise or an empowering and titillating local business befitting this sex-positive city? Is it a way for   More
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 RUTH BROWN

Food Cart Review: Zizzo’s FC

Food Cart Reviews
The off-the-clock dabblings of pro athletes can get ugly: Michael Jordan’s fiendish gambling, Michael Vick’s gruesome dog-killing, Tiger Woods’ compulsive boning of soft-chinned floozies. Bl   More
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR

Food Cart Review: Briskets

Food Cart Reviews
Bacon-topped brisket seems gratuitous. Really, how much could sufficiently tender and smoky cuts of beef benefit from extra fat and salt? Briskets, a newish cart in the Q-19 pod, has unleashed t   More
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR
Top Articles
No articles in this section

Web Design for magazines