Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Southern Soul

Fine-dining Italian is dominated by northern fare. Can Bellino make the south rise again?


Food Reviews & Stories
In the first century of Italian-American cuisine, nothing north of Naples mattered. The vast majority of the Italian immigrants who migrated to this country in the late 1800s and early 1900s came from   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Marmo, Reviewed


Food Reviews & Stories
The best thing I’ve eaten at the West End’s Marmo is also by far the simplest. The humble Italian sub ($11) is light, classic and almost perfect—a balance of fatty mortadella, spicy coppa and sa   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Hot Plates: Our Favorite Portland Restaurants This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
A list of the five spots we're excited about right now—maybe taquerias we've loved forever, maybe seafood spots with special menus this week. It's designed to answer that age-old question: Where should we go out to dinner tonight?
   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Buzz List: Where We’re Drinking 
This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
Our pick for the top brewpub, dive bar or wine lounge might change by the time you've finished reading this. But here are the spots, new and old, that we're most excited about right now.   More
 
Tuesday, July 28, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Donut Byte Labs: Doughnut Review


Food Reviews & Stories
We have met our new mini-doughnut robot overlord, and its name is Donut Byte Labs. Look, I love me some Pip's robot-made mini-doughnuts straight off the boiler—luscious cake    More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Mi Piace Troppo: Renata Reviewed

The young Renata has some nice moves and fantastic pasta. But there’s work to do.


Food Reviews & Stories
Lunch plans had to be canceled—Nick Arnerich knew that right away. When Arnerich’s new, wood-fired Italian restaurant, Renata, was chosen as The Oregonian’s favorite new spot in its annual res   More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Summer Lovin’

The pop-up romance with Lil’ Wares’ General Tso sandwich will be short but intense.


Food Reviews & Stories
Like a new love born at Coachella, Lil’ Wares was never meant to last. Consider it a summer fling, equal parts exciting and doomed. When the quaint Red Fig restaurant closed down this spring on No   More
 
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Battered and Fried

Batter Griddle & Drinkery is sloppy drunk food.


Food Reviews & Stories
If Cheech and Chong opened a restaurant honoring their weed-humor heyday, I’m certain it would bear an uncanny resemblance to Batter Griddle & Drinkery. Batter, which opened to much fanfare in M   More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Pow to the People

Kung Pow dresses up and gets down with American Chinese.


Food Reviews & Stories
When you see the dragon on that takeout menu, you know what you’re in for. Not to mention the exclamatory name (Kung POW!, a typography our copy editors won’t allow in our paper outside of these p   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Salt & Straw's New Street-Food-Based Ice Creams


Food Reviews & Stories
On paper, it looks wonderful. Ice-cream collaborations from some of our favorite food carts—Nong’s Khao Man Gai, Wolf and Bear’s, Viking Soul Food—available all June as seasonal flavors. Thing   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close