Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Hot Plates: Our Favorite Portland Restaurants This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
A list of the five spots we're excited about right now—maybe taquerias we've loved forever, maybe seafood spots with special menus this week. It's designed to answer that age-old question: Where should we go out to dinner tonight?
   More
 
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Hala Back

Lamb bacon and yogurt cocktails at Ya Hala’s Lebanese brunch.


Food Reviews & Stories
Bacon or sausage? Before you answer, consider that neither of the two breakfast meats at Ya Hala’s new Lebanese brunch bears much resemblance to the familiar versions found down the street at   More
 
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Drunken Noodles

Biwa ramen spinoff Noraneko serves up killer pork and booze.


Food Reviews & Stories
Some go for the burger, but I don’t care for such people. For years, the late-night happy-hour ramen at basement izakaya Biwa has been a pilgrimage for me, a $5 antidote for skipped post-work    More
 
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Buzz List: Where We’re Drinking 
This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
Our pick for the top brewpub, dive bar or wine lounge might change by the time you've finished reading this. But here are the spots, new and old, that we're most excited about right now.   More
 
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Cued Up

People’s Pig and Smokehouse Tavern up Portland’s pit potential.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s food scene is plenty dynamic, but the standard bearers tend to stay the same. After 10 years, Apizza Scholls is still the consensus choice for best pizza. Pok Pok was universally re   More
 
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

The Seven Wonders Of Beervana

Only in Portland...


Food Reviews & Stories
Looking to get in touch with Portland’s beer culture this week? Well, you could go where the national beer magazines send you, enjoying Rogue’s carpet-flavored beer then heading over to Ap   More
 
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Charlie’s Deli: Food Review


Food Reviews & Stories
It all started on Facebook. We saw pictures of sandwiches at this place called Charlie’s Deli in Old Town, all seemingly 6 inches thick, plus fresh slabs of brisket and pork belly and prime ri   More
 
Wednesday, April 1, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Apizza Scholls Weekend Brunch


Food Reviews & Stories
For nearly a decade, Portland’s best pizza has been anachronistically named and a royal pain in the ass to buy. And for just as long, waiting for Brian Spangler’s perfectly chewy, char-spo   More
 
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Fire and Stone: Restaurant Review

Fire and Stone needs some polish to be Beaumont’s pizzeria.


Food Reviews & Stories
Fire and Stone says it wants to be a “neighborhood spot.” That’s always sounded like a sheepish goal to me. Why not be a destination? Home to the best Patagonian-style salchichas con chucr   More
 
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Down-Home Duet

Tapalaya’s Viet-Cajun mash-up brings the real flavor of modern New Orleans.


Food Reviews & Stories
Vietnamese and Cajun are like the main characters in every movie starring Jennifer Aniston: You wouldn’t think they belong together, but OMG. Both are French Creole cuisines, both river cultur   More
 
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close