Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Buzz List: Where We’re Drinking 
This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
Our pick for the top brewpub, dive bar or wine lounge might change by the time you've finished reading this. But here are the spots, new and old, that we're most excited about right now.   More
 
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Face Off: The Supermarket Sushi of Hawthorne


Food Reviews & Stories
Supermarket sushi isn’t just for the cold case anymore. Head to Hawthorne and there, within two blocks of each other, sit two sushi restaurants inside grocery stores. The Hawthorne Fred Meyer has a    More
 
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Hot Plates: Our Favorite Portland Restaurants This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
A list of the five spots we're excited about right now—maybe taquerias we've loved forever, maybe seafood spots with special menus this week. It's designed to answer that age-old question: Where should we go out to dinner tonight?
   More
 
Tuesday, August 25, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Totes Gelly

Licking through town on a search for the best gelato in Portland.


Food Reviews & Stories
Gelaterias—Italian-style ice-cream joints—had all but disappeared from Portland just a few years ago. The hip and trendy frozen treat of the early 2000s had been replaced by quality American-style   More
 
Wednesday, August 19, 2015 NICK ZUKIN, MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Ha Ha


Food Reviews & Stories
Ha & VL is like a Vietnamese version of the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld, except when they say, “No soup for you,” they apologize. The tiny shop serves two different soups each day except Tuesday (ne   More
 
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

That Is All

Why I Hope Yelp's “Death Spiral” Ends Somewhere Near Myspace


Food Reviews & Stories
Dear Yelp, How’s it going? Ya hangin’ in there, buddy? I’ve been hearing all sorts of terrible things about you on the Internet—you’re in a “death spiral,” according to Forbes—and I ju   More
 
Tuesday, August 11, 2015 SERVICE INDUSTRY WORKER

Just Dua It

The Doi Dua pop-up is Portland’s new best Vietnamese restaurant.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s first Vietnamese restaurants began popping up in the 1970s, just as America’s war in Southeast Asia was winding down. Though many Vietnamese refugees who landed here moved on to the Gul   More
 
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Keep it Poppin’

A few of our favorite Portland Pop-Ups.


Food Reviews & Stories
Pop-ups just keep popping up. With rare exception, each is an impecunious young chef’s road test for grander ambitions that may or may not pan out. The irregular hours and changeable locations can b   More
 
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Southern Soul

Fine-dining Italian is dominated by northern fare. Can Bellino make the south rise again?


Food Reviews & Stories
In the first century of Italian-American cuisine, nothing north of Naples mattered. The vast majority of the Italian immigrants who migrated to this country in the late 1800s and early 1900s came from   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Marmo, Reviewed


Food Reviews & Stories
The best thing I’ve eaten at the West End’s Marmo is also by far the simplest. The humble Italian sub ($11) is light, classic and almost perfect—a balance of fatty mortadella, spicy coppa and sa   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close