Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Hot Plates: Our Favorite Portland Restaurants This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
A list of the five spots we're excited about right now—maybe taquerias we've loved forever, maybe seafood spots with special menus this week. It's designed to answer that age-old question: Where should we go out to dinner tonight?
   More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Buzz List: Where We’re Drinking 
This Week


Food Reviews & Stories
Our pick for the top brewpub, dive bar or wine lounge might change by the time you've finished reading this. But here are the spots, new and old, that we're most excited about right now.   More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Pow to the People

Kung Pow dresses up and gets down with American Chinese.


Food Reviews & Stories
When you see the dragon on that takeout menu, you know what you’re in for. Not to mention the exclamatory name (Kung POW!, a typography our copy editors won’t allow in our paper outside of these p   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Salt & Straw's New Street-Food-Based Ice Creams


Food Reviews & Stories
On paper, it looks wonderful. Ice-cream collaborations from some of our favorite food carts—Nong’s Khao Man Gai, Wolf and Bear’s, Viking Soul Food—available all June as seasonal flavors. Thing   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Premise Accepted

How Coors and Democratic politicians almost killed Oregon beer.


Food Reviews & Stories
Few state laws have shaped Portland’s economy and culture like Senate Bill 813, otherwise known as the Brewpub Bill. The law, which was passed 30 years ago today and signed into law by Vic A   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 PETE DUNLOP

¿Qué Es Lo Bueno?

Trying every Latin American food cart at Portland Mercado.


Food Reviews & Stories
The new Portland Mercado of Foster-Powell is beautiful, and if you don’t like it, I don’t trust you. The project—begun through assorted nonprofiteering, goodwill-type impulses having to    More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

All Piez On Me

You got teeth in your mouth, so P.R.E.A.M. pies gotsta fit.


Food Reviews & Stories
The sad-bastard music had to go. A few years ago, most upscale Portland restaurants—places where people went for some nice cooked food in their nice clean drawers—played Black Keys Pandora   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Rebuilding the Bell

It’s getting tough to get Taco Bell in Portland. We asked a Mexican food expert to reverse-engineer our favorite FourthMeals.


Food Reviews & Stories
For FourthMeal fans, these are trying times. Both Taco Bell locations in central Portland are currently closed, with the West Burnside Street Bell apparently being rebuilt and the Northeast    More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 JOHN LOCANTHI

The First Annual Haute-N-Ready Awards


Food Reviews & Stories
These are exciting times in the fast-food industry. What began with Doritos taco shells and fried chicken-as-sandwich bread has evolved into biscuit taco shells and fried chicken-as-hot dog bu   More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 JOHN LOCANTHI

Hold Me

Pop-ups are a hassle for customers. Holdfast is worth it.


Food Reviews & Stories
In a perfect world, Holdfast is pretty much perfect. Just before dusk, you arrive at a semi-industrial street, where the neighboring car dealership recently took down its barbed wire. Inside a   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close