Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Yellow Bellies

Which local mustards pass muster?


Food Reviews & Stories
Most shelves at the Made in Oregon store are stocked with the obvious: Jams made from native berries, our famous wines and cheeses, the blankets our pioneers traded to indigenous people before s   More
 
Wednesday, May 15, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Via Chicago


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s been seven years since I lived in Chicago, where I attended college, drinking too much Midwestern beer and cramming as much of the city’s famous stuffed pizza into my maw as my student bu   More
 
Wednesday, May 8, 2013 ANDREA DAMEWOOD

Way Off-Key

Quartet tries to bring true fine dining to Portland.


Food Reviews & Stories
In this unicorns-and-rainbows town, all the food carts are fabulous, and free-spirited chefs never fail to deliver mealtime magic on the cheap. Sycophants cheer the indie scene with the shrill fer   More
 
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Rigoberto’s


Food Reviews & Stories
Rigoberto comes from a family that is large and well known, if not especially prestigious. Sitting snugly against a tire shop across from Grocery Outlet on Highway 99E in Milwaukie, Rigoberto’   More
 
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

In a Neat Little Roe

Former Fin chef Trent Pierce works wonders in Wafu’s back room.


Food Reviews & Stories
Going to Roe is a bit like passing into the Egyptian afterlife. Before you reach its peaceful space, you must first pass through the land of wish fulfillment—in this case, the lively food tunn   More
 
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Keeping it Kosher

Five local rabbis pick Portland’s best bagel.


Food Reviews & Stories
Five out of five rabbis agree: Portland is still suffering from the closure of Kettleman Bagel Company. Despite the efforts of many who have stepped up to fill the bagel-shaped void, nothing has b   More
 
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 ENID SPITZ

Nudi Scene

Asian-European fusion from an Asian perspective.


Food Reviews & Stories
About halfway through a meal at Woodstock’s Nudi Noodle Place, my dining companion looked up and said, “This tastes good, but I feel like I don’t understand what’s going on anymore.” T   More
 
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Creature Comforts

Kingdom come, in Portland as it is in McMinnville. But who’s game?


Food Reviews & Stories
The Kingdom of Roosevelt’s menu may be a minor literary work, short prose that begins with “Fallow deer heart tartare with his marrow,” continues to “Eggs in various forms” and closes on   More
 
Wednesday, March 27, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Behind the Volcano


Food Reviews & Stories
Only a few years ago, Montavilla’s reputation revolved around car lots and hookers. That stretch of 82nd Avenue is still a great place to find a 2008 Silverado, but on a recent Friday night, the   More
 
Wednesday, March 13, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Good Fishing

Fish Sauce brings solid Vietnamese to Northwest.


Food Reviews & Stories
In a gauzy dream sequence, I am beckoned to a remote area of town to check out a dingy, under-the-radar ethnic joint where every dish is a stunning success of bright, bold, exotic flavors. I’m t   More
 
Wednesday, March 6, 2013 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close