Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Sok Sab Bai


Food Reviews & Stories
Sometimes it’s the simple things that leave you reeling. Remember your first Ike’s Wings? Even if you’d known great chicken wings, there’s something special about Pok Pok’s signature dis   More
 
Wednesday, July 3, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Morning Sen

Andy Ricker’s new noodle joint has great noodles, even better custard.


Food Reviews & Stories
Andy Ricker is too busy to gather coconuts. Makes sense, given the Pok Pok owner has six restaurants on two coasts, a nationally distributed line of drinking vinegars and a cookbook coming out thi   More
 
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Instant Karma

Our summer interns gorge themselves on worldly ramen.


Food Reviews & Stories
How good can instant ramen get? Good enough for Pok Pok’s Andy Ricker, Portland’s best-known chef and the restaurateur behind one of The New York Times’ top restaurants of 2012, who likes Th   More
 
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 RICHARD GRUNERT

Gold Chain

In defense of Shari’s, America’s best freeway-exit diners.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portlanders rarely miss a chance to feel their hearts swell with civic pride, especially when it comes to unfancy food. While our upper tier is only what a city of our size and wealth requires—w   More
 
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

A Hill of Beans

Levant has a strong pitch, bats .350.


Food Reviews & Stories
Levant, chef Scott Snyder’s new Buckman restaurant in a former bakery, is a staid dining hall of warm wood, hot brick and neutral walls that seem to buff the room’s sound into a soft cushion o   More
 
Wednesday, June 5, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

The Cake Wars

Who among us is righteous enough to eat of the sacred buttercream Bible-beating Oregon bakers have denied gays?


Food Reviews & Stories
Sugar, flour, eggs and water are now munitions in America’s culture war. Or so you’d think from two Oregon bakeries that recently refused to make cakes for same-sex weddings, getting national    More
 
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Tarad Thai


Food Reviews & Stories
Tarad Thai’s interior looks like a ’70s Chiang Mai bodega designed by Hollywood, a home away from home to Viet-vet expats who moved to the Thai countryside to find their souls. And it is ind   More
 
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Lay Off the Sauce

No, Lake Oswego’s Pine Shed Ribs is not the best barbecue in Portland.


Food Reviews & Stories
Earlier this month, Stephen Colbert’s sister lost a congressional election to philandering former South Carolina Gov. Mark Sanford. In response, the TV host shunned his home state, declaring a   More
 
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Yellow Bellies

Which local mustards pass muster?


Food Reviews & Stories
Most shelves at the Made in Oregon store are stocked with the obvious: Jams made from native berries, our famous wines and cheeses, the blankets our pioneers traded to indigenous people before s   More
 
Wednesday, May 15, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Via Chicago


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s been seven years since I lived in Chicago, where I attended college, drinking too much Midwestern beer and cramming as much of the city’s famous stuffed pizza into my maw as my student bu   More
 
Wednesday, May 8, 2013 ANDREA DAMEWOOD
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close