Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

All Night Long

It’s 4 am, do you know where your sandwich is?


Food Reviews & Stories
We know Portland teenagers are all tucked in bed by the city’s curfew, which is 10:15 pm on school nights and midnight on weekends. But if, hypothetically, they were out late—perhaps coming    More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 WW Culture Staff

Totally Grounded

Put down the Chemex—students need cream, sugar and fast Wi-fi.


Food Reviews & Stories
Heart Coffee at East Burnside and 22nd Avenue knows its product. The baristas could write a book about beans extracted from Kenya and Ethiopia and roasted on site. They can talk for days about t   More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Hookahs and Blow

How exotic tobacco pipes conquered the under-21 club scene.


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s 11 pm on a Monday night at Beirut Hookah Lounge in Beaverton. Two guys—one in a hoodie and a baseball cap turned to the side, the other in a waistcoat and a purple tie—play cards on low   More
 
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 JOHN LOCANTHI

Who Ya Got?

Late-night eats at KimSatGot Pocha


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s an awkward arrival. Pulling up to a shabby Beaverton strip mall at dusk on a Saturday night, we expect to walk into a busy restaurant. It’s totally empty. Called from the kitchen, our h   More
 
Wednesday, June 27, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Piroshki & a Pickle Coffeehouse


Food Reviews & Stories
Natalia Gurzhiy wants to build a Portland piroshki empire. Three months ago, the Russian-born baker and her American husband opened Piroshki & a Pickle Coffeehouse. It is exactly what it says    More
 
Wednesday, June 20, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Sic Semper Lactucis

All hail the Mextiza Caesar salad


Food Reviews & Stories
I may never return to the original Caesar salad. Tijuana, where the Caesar was created by an Italian immigrant in 1924, is supposedly still safe for tourists. I’m not so sure. That salad—l   More
 
Wednesday, June 20, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Octopi Portland

Cephalopod steaks at Riffle NW


Food Reviews & Stories
You’ve got a lot of nerve, eating an octopus. The decision gives a diner pause not because of any outstanding cruelty in the preparation—there’s no suffering akin to foie gras, or the lobste   More
 
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 AARON MESH

Bollywood Theater

Indian street food that's pure Portland


Food Reviews & Stories
Chef Troy MacLarty may have walked the streets of Kolkata to research the food for his new Indian bistro Bollywood Theater, but in feeling his restaurant is pure Portland: upscale street food amid   More
 
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Chevre Off


Food Reviews & Stories
We had wine on our minds. Then we got a little hungry, so we staged a raid on the cheese case at Irvington’s Foster & Dobbs specialty foods store. What should you pair with an Oregon pinot   More
 
Wednesday, May 23, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Salt & Straw

A frosty reception.


Food Reviews & Stories
But what do the children eat? “Oh, they like the vanilla,” answers the knit-capped woman behind the counter at Salt & Straw. This is suspicious. As a child, I remember screaming for bubble   More
 
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR
Top Articles
No articles in this section
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close