Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Klatch of 2012

Our favorite new Portland coffee shops.


Food Reviews & Stories
In the process of putting together this year’s coffee issue, we visited a coffee shop that delivers only by bike, a coffee shop in a bike store, a coffee shop in a motorcycle store, and a coffee   More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 WW Staff

Double Brewed

The best coffee beers available in Oregon.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland is known for coffee and beer. But not coffee beer. Despite having the nation’s best crop of small-batch coffee roasters and making some of the nation’s best suds, few Portland brewe   More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 MITCH LILLIE

Buzz Next Year

What and how Portland will be drinking in 2013.


Food Reviews & Stories
Coffee Roasters United The problem: Small specialty coffee roasters can’t afford to buy raw beans from growers on other continents by themselves. Sterling Coffee Roasters owner Adam McGovern beli   More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 MITCH LILLIE

Daft Dunk

Portland's finest coffee and doughnut pairings.


Food Reviews & Stories
I was nervous the first time, shuffling my feet and crumpling the top of the paper bag as I waited for the barista’s attention. “I want something that will go well with this,” I offer caut   More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

The Caffeinator

Portland’s best new coffee shops and trends.


Food Reviews & Stories
If you can’t find a place where everybody knows your name, at least find one where they know your coffee order. Mine’s a macchiato—but everyone at my local knows that. They also know what I    More
 
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Raccoon Redux

Tanuki is a mysterious creature: Eat first, ask questions never.


Food Reviews & Stories
Tanuki is a strange little world. Known for its food but appointed as a bar, chef-owner Janis Martin’s Montavilla izakaya is a dim, nearly unmarked space frequented mostly by a small, self-selec   More
 
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Paley’s Other Place

Imperial is plenty ambitious, but not quite ready to rule.


Food Reviews & Stories
Vitaly Paley makes a mean stack of flapjacks. Although he has operated Paley’s Place in the Alphabet District since 1995, we’re only now learning about his pancake prowess thanks to the breakf   More
 
Wednesday, November 7, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Shut Up, Lardo

A bun-based battle of rival Southeast sandwich shops.


Food Reviews & Stories
Yo! Asshole! Youse can plainly see I’m eatin’ at dis sandwich shop. And youse gonna eat at d’otha sandwich shop? In South Philly, where partisans yell insults across the street as they line    More
 
Wednesday, October 31, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Those Crafty Canadians

Be proud of Vancouver, B.C.’s Portland-themed restaurant.


Food Reviews & Stories
Cameron Forsyth has never lived in Portland. This did not stop him from opening a Portland-centric restaurant in his native Canada. Yes, our city has a culinary embassy in Vancouver, B.C. The    More
 
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Carrying the Tiki Torch

Yes, the guys in flowered shirts take cocktails seriously, too.


Food Reviews & Stories
A small tropical “storm” breaks out in the corner of the room, and Craig Hermann, dressed in a safari hat and vintage Hawaiian shirt, erupts with a delighted...   More
 
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 RUTH BROWN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close