Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Melt With You

Grilling the goods at Xico


Food Reviews & Stories
Oaxaca is famous for inventing one of the world’s great cheeses. If you know how to pronounce the name of the southern Mexican state (wah-hah-ka) but not Xochitl or Tlaxcala, you probably owe    More
 
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Square Peg

Jamison has ambition, a view and little else.


Food Reviews & Stories
The one enduring positive at the restaurant now known as Jamison is a location that maximizes the seasonal joy of al fresco dining. On the enclosed patio at the edge of Jamison Square in Northwe   More
 
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

The Book of Bivalve

The Pearl gets oysters, courtesy of EaT owners’ new restaurant, the Parish.


Food Reviews & Stories
At the Parish, communion comes on the half shell.  It’s a pun, see? This New Orleans-inspired bistro from Tobias Hogan and Ethan Powell, the owners of North Williams...   More
 
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

10 Things You Can See At Feast


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s restaurant scene is all grown up, and that means we get a fancy food festival to call our very own. Feast Portland, the brainchild of former WW contributor Mike Thelin and PR consulta   More
 
Wednesday, September 19, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Jackson’s Lite-N-Tasty


Food Reviews & Stories
Americans are fat because our lifestyles have evolved faster than our diets. Those all-American foods—burgers, fries, milkshakes—were sustenance, not indulgence, for generations stained with    More
 
Wednesday, September 19, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

I Banh Mi

Finally: good downtown banh mi.


Food Reviews & Stories
There have long been plenty of banh mi to be found in downtown Portland from myriad near-identical Vietnamese food carts. But, broadly speaking, they haven’t been any good. A really great versio   More
 
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Restaurant Review: Cibo


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s surprisingly easy to guess which guys are headed through the mirrored door to the adult theater. Grandfatherly gentleman in a plaid shirt scurrying down the sidewalk like he’s late for a    More
 
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Om Nom Nom. Ugh.

A field guide to food bloggers.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s food blogosphere is mercifully small. In bigger cities, thousands of self-proclaimed “foodies” wield an unhealthy amount of power over the culinary economy, tending to cutely titl   More
 
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Jerk-Off

Me want dried meat. What brand best


Food Reviews & Stories
Beef jerky is a primal pleasure. Drying meat for storage was practical for cave dwellers, of course, but we keep making it in an era of refrigerators because there’s something satisfying about g   More
 
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Carpaccio Trattoria

Can Carpaccio break its building's curse?


Food Reviews & Stories
The ugly brick building at the corner of Northeast Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard and Fremont Street has not been kind to its ground-floor tenants. The first occupant, Terroir, shuttered after j   More
 
Wednesday, August 8, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close