Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Sic Semper Lactucis

All hail the Mextiza Caesar salad


Food Reviews & Stories
I may never return to the original Caesar salad. Tijuana, where the Caesar was created by an Italian immigrant in 1924, is supposedly still safe for tourists. I’m not so sure. That salad—l   More
 
Wednesday, June 20, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Octopi Portland

Cephalopod steaks at Riffle NW


Food Reviews & Stories
You’ve got a lot of nerve, eating an octopus. The decision gives a diner pause not because of any outstanding cruelty in the preparation—there’s no suffering akin to foie gras, or the lobste   More
 
Wednesday, June 13, 2012 AARON MESH

Bollywood Theater

Indian street food that's pure Portland


Food Reviews & Stories
Chef Troy MacLarty may have walked the streets of Kolkata to research the food for his new Indian bistro Bollywood Theater, but in feeling his restaurant is pure Portland: upscale street food amid   More
 
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Chevre Off


Food Reviews & Stories
We had wine on our minds. Then we got a little hungry, so we staged a raid on the cheese case at Irvington’s Foster & Dobbs specialty foods store. What should you pair with an Oregon pinot   More
 
Wednesday, May 23, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Salt & Straw

A frosty reception.


Food Reviews & Stories
But what do the children eat? “Oh, they like the vanilla,” answers the knit-capped woman behind the counter at Salt & Straw. This is suspicious. As a child, I remember screaming for bubble   More
 
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Mekong Bistro

Oregon's only Cambodian restaurant returns.


Food Reviews & Stories
When Good Call Sports Bar & Grill was evicted from its Hazelwood home at the end of December—the landlord lost the property—Portlanders lost not only a friendly place to watch the game b   More
 
Wednesday, May 9, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Requiem for a View

Amadeus Manor has the best view in town


Food Reviews & Stories
People have stopped looking up in restaurants. We’re so busy Instagramming our plates, or poring over our meal’s backstory, that a great view seems superfluous. People now chat excitedly about   More
 
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Chicken Strip Club

Two medical-marijuana rappers are making their chicken and waffles into the best soul food on MLK.


Food Reviews & Stories
Waffles are arguably the least interesting of J. Mack’s projects. Born James McClendon in 1967...   More
 
Wednesday, April 25, 2012 AARON MESH

The Garbanzo Gauntlet

Cedo's makes the best falafel in town.


Food Reviews & Stories
“We felt sorry for Portlanders because they don’t have good falafel,” says the tall, trim man with a smile. “So we had to come here.” That’s Sam Hazza, a Palestine native who moved   More
 
Wednesday, April 18, 2012 KELLY CLARKE

Bull In a China Shop

Who pays $22 for Yin-Yang Shrimp?


Food Reviews & Stories
A dish called Dragonwell Lionhead summons imagery straight outta Game of Thrones: writhing lizards hatching from the skulls of your enemies doused in Sriracha—or something like that. Part of the   More
 
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 AARON MESH
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close