Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Easy-Baked

Cutting-edge cooking with cannabis.


Food Reviews & Stories
THC can be absorbed into the blood in many ways, and people figured out how to eat it pretty early on. Consequently, there are heaps of literature out there on how to ingest dope, and most of th   More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 JEFF MCCARTHY

Make Me Over

Pho PDX gets a chic, boozy overhaul at Luc Lac Vietnamese Kitchen.


Food Reviews & Stories
At Luc Lac you don’t just eat the pho—you drink it. And it’s damn good. Adam Ho, co-owner and bar manager at the newish downtown restaurant, mixes bourbon, cranberry juice and a little pea   More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 KELLY CLARKE

Burning Down The Mouth

Road-testing five Portland hot sauces.


Food Reviews & Stories
Yeah, yeah, you love Secret Aardvark. We know. But there’s a whole grocery shelf of locally made hot sauces out there just waiting to burn your face off. We put five to a blind taste test using    More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Torta Reform

Torta-Landia makes bocadillos for gabachos.


Food Reviews & Stories
Run an image search for “torta” and you’ll find many small variations on a single theme: lots of meat, avocado and shredded iceberg lettuce stuffed in an enormous loaf of soft, lightly crust   More
 
Wednesday, January 11, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Such Great Heights

2nd Story is worth the climb.


Food Reviews & Stories
Erin McBride does wonderful things with beets. And kale. And sometimes peaches. As so often happens in this town, (say it with me) it all depends on the season. The Ohio-born farm girl made desser   More
 
Wednesday, January 4, 2012 KELLY CLARKE

Double Dragon

A bourgie take on banh mi.


Food Reviews & Stories
Banh mi price inflation is a hot button for foodniks. Is it reasonable to double the price of cheapo Vietnamese sandwiches when they’re composed of midgrade ingredients and served in swankier di   More
 
Wednesday, January 4, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

The Best Thing I Ate This Year...

Our food writers pick their favorite Portland meals of 2011.


Food Reviews & Stories
On a miserable, soggy day in mid-November, my wife and I sought shelter from the cold at Five Spice (2446 SE 87th Ave.), a Cantonese restaurant that opened this spring. It’s a pleasant, under-de   More
 
Wednesday, December 28, 2011 WW Culture Staff

Devour: Elizabeth’s Tamales


Food Reviews & Stories
There are many things I want to know about Elizabeth, the woman who rolled a cooler up to my front door to sell tamales. How she got in the cooler-based tamale business, naturally. Also, who else    More
 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR

You Wanna Pizza Me?

Via Tribunali and Oven and Shaker vie for downtown pizza dominance.


Food Reviews & Stories
How’s this for timing: Two Neapolitan pizza places happened to open nearly simultaneously in downtown Portland, both serving authentic thin-crust pizza at affordable prices. Each has been pack   More
 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

A Prim Woodland

The Woodsman Tavern tastes good and looks better.


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s Thanksgiving eve and the Woodsman Tavern is bustling. The harried staff darts about as diners seated on iron-legged drafting stools blend together in the richly dim room. A pale, slightly b   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close