Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Pho Huy

Lean meat, phat flavor.


Food Reviews & Stories
That a great bowl of pho need not be all gizzards and tail is blasphemy to some. So call mine the ignorant opinion of a margarine-raised Midwesterner, but I like really nice, clean shaves of nea   More
 
Wednesday, February 15, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

A Pair To Remember

Coppia remains a vinter’s paradise—now with food to match.


Food Reviews & Stories
Blind item: What famed Portland director of various Afflecks was recently seen supping at Pearl District dining hotspot Coppia with a statuesque blonde companion?   More
 
Wednesday, February 8, 2012 AARON MESH

A Fine Show

Tony Demes is back with Noisette.


Food Reviews & Stories
Chef Tony Demes’ new French-modern restaurant Noisette is good for both dinner and a show if you do it right. Couvron, his much-missed previous restaurant—which Demes moved from Portland to Ne   More
 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

EC Kitchen


Food Reviews & Stories
The sign outside this newly refurbished house on Southeast 82nd Avenue, about a mile north of the dividing line between civilization and Clackamas County, promises “Chinese Traditional Delight   More
 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Teff Love

Crowning Portland’s best Ethiopian restaurant.


Food Reviews & Stories
People aren’t shy about recommending a favorite Ethiopian restaurant. Their opinion is usually worthless, however, because it’s one of the two they’ve visited. It’s true that the menu, pri   More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Snacktime Smackdown

How does yuppie junk food chalk up against the regular old crap?


Food Reviews & Stories
You make curious food purchases when you’re high. In fact, being baked exposes an essential truth about the kind of foods that litter the shelves at convenience stores: They are designed exclusi   More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 RUSTY FEATHERCAP

Easy-Baked

Cutting-edge cooking with cannabis.


Food Reviews & Stories
THC can be absorbed into the blood in many ways, and people figured out how to eat it pretty early on. Consequently, there are heaps of literature out there on how to ingest dope, and most of th   More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 JEFF MCCARTHY

Make Me Over

Pho PDX gets a chic, boozy overhaul at Luc Lac Vietnamese Kitchen.


Food Reviews & Stories
At Luc Lac you don’t just eat the pho—you drink it. And it’s damn good. Adam Ho, co-owner and bar manager at the newish downtown restaurant, mixes bourbon, cranberry juice and a little pea   More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 KELLY CLARKE

Burning Down The Mouth

Road-testing five Portland hot sauces.


Food Reviews & Stories
Yeah, yeah, you love Secret Aardvark. We know. But there’s a whole grocery shelf of locally made hot sauces out there just waiting to burn your face off. We put five to a blind taste test using    More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Torta Reform

Torta-Landia makes bocadillos for gabachos.


Food Reviews & Stories
Run an image search for “torta” and you’ll find many small variations on a single theme: lots of meat, avocado and shredded iceberg lettuce stuffed in an enormous loaf of soft, lightly crust   More
 
Wednesday, January 11, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close