Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Double Dragon

A bourgie take on banh mi.


Food Reviews & Stories
Banh mi price inflation is a hot button for foodniks. Is it reasonable to double the price of cheapo Vietnamese sandwiches when they’re composed of midgrade ingredients and served in swankier di   More
 
Wednesday, January 4, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

The Best Thing I Ate This Year...

Our food writers pick their favorite Portland meals of 2011.


Food Reviews & Stories
On a miserable, soggy day in mid-November, my wife and I sought shelter from the cold at Five Spice (2446 SE 87th Ave.), a Cantonese restaurant that opened this spring. It’s a pleasant, under-de   More
 
Wednesday, December 28, 2011 WW Culture Staff

Devour: Elizabeth’s Tamales


Food Reviews & Stories
There are many things I want to know about Elizabeth, the woman who rolled a cooler up to my front door to sell tamales. How she got in the cooler-based tamale business, naturally. Also, who else    More
 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR

You Wanna Pizza Me?

Via Tribunali and Oven and Shaker vie for downtown pizza dominance.


Food Reviews & Stories
How’s this for timing: Two Neapolitan pizza places happened to open nearly simultaneously in downtown Portland, both serving authentic thin-crust pizza at affordable prices. Each has been pack   More
 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

A Prim Woodland

The Woodsman Tavern tastes good and looks better.


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s Thanksgiving eve and the Woodsman Tavern is bustling. The harried staff darts about as diners seated on iron-legged drafting stools blend together in the richly dim room. A pale, slightly b   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR

Soul Food, Thai Style

Manao ditches the pad Thai and brings on the pork knuckle.


Food Reviews & Stories
Pok Pok has fish sauce wings; Manao has pig knuckles. That’s not to say that Chef Ekkachai “Chew” Sakkayasukkalawong’s quiet new Thai spot in Sellwood will grow to inspire the same legion    More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 KELLY CLARKE

Cinnaman

Seven dudes pick Portland’s best cinnamon roll.


Food Reviews & Stories
It wasn’t Willamette Week’s intention to limit our taste-off of Portland’s best cinnamon rolls by gender. But by happenstance, only dudes—seven of ’em—came down to the conference room    More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 WW Staff

Central Nonstandard

Central opens up its curtains and menu, featuring diverse small plates.


Food Reviews & Stories
When tiny Central first opened a little over a year ago, it was planned as something of a craft-cocktail hipster speakeasy, unmarked and secreted away in a narrow back alley of otherwise chaotic   More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Buckman Brewery


Food Reviews & Stories
Through the north doors of the cavernous brewery/warehouse/meeting room that is the Green Dragon, you will find a patio. There you will find a Quonset hut. And in front of this Quonset hut, you will f   More
 
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 KAT MERCK

All in the Family

At Sugar Mamas, food is love.


Food Reviews & Stories
Sugar Mamas is not going to win any beauty contests. A parade of sadness twitches past the tiny downtown cafe’s windows on the way to the nearby drug treatment center. The walls are a sickly olive g   More
 
Tuesday, November 22, 2011 KELLY CLARKE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close