Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Oregon Brewers Festival


Food Reviews & Stories
The sudsy celebration that started Portland’s obsession with gathering to slurp tiny tasters of craft brews is back for its 24th year. These days it has metastasized into a juggernaut of an event    More
 
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 KELLY CLARKE

Mio Seafood Market

Mio wants you to make your own sushi.


Food Reviews & Stories
The eight Portland-area outlets of Sonny Kim’s Mio Sushi empire go through a lot of fish any given day—so much so that the chain buys its sashimi fodder in very, very large quantities, and distrib   More
 
Wednesday, July 20, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

You Got Your Tofu In My BBQ!

At So Kong Dong, hot tofu and meat live happily ever after.


Food Reviews & Stories
At So Kong Dong Tofu & BBQ, you hear your food before you see it. The hiss-spit-sizzle of broth and meat hitting hot stone
   More
 
Wednesday, July 20, 2011 KELLY CLARKE

Brasserie 3: The Brassering

Brasserie Montmartre returns from the grave—again.


Food Reviews & Stories
Our story thus far: In 1978, the same year voters approved the creation of the nation’s first urban growth boundary and WW declared the Bee Gees artists of the year   More
 
Wednesday, July 13, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Daniel Klein, The Perennial Plate


Food Reviews & Stories
I’ve been hungrily video-stalking Daniel Klein for over a month. One week he was hanging out with a Vietnamese fisherman on the Gulf Coast; another he was trailing shiitake mushroom farmers in the   More
 
Wednesday, July 6, 2011 KELLY CLARKE

Kitchen Playground

Aviary sets taste buds—and imaginations—aflutter.


Food Reviews & Stories
Note: After this review went to press, an illegal firework caused a fire on Aviary's roof. The restaurant is temporarily closed, but we'll let you know on wweek.com as soon as it reopens its doors.&   More
 
Wednesday, July 6, 2011 BRIAN PANGANIBAN

The Hot Chick

Cackalack’s Hot Chicken Shack


Food Reviews & Stories
I made four visits to Cackalack’s Hot Chicken Shack before I could try the sandwich that the eatery—housed in a nondescript metal trailer—calls its marquee item. On the first visit I was just    More
 
Wednesday, June 29, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Eat Your Greens

Natural Selection throws a party for vegetables.


Food Reviews & Stories
Natural Selection is a vegetable restaurant. That’s no typo—the new upscale supper club from chef and Vita Cafe owner Aaron Woo may be meat-free, but lumping it in the “vegetarian” category    More
 
Wednesday, June 22, 2011 RUTH BROWN

Butter Me Up

In search of Portland’s best croissant.


Food Reviews & Stories
Marrying two fine Portland traditions—gorging on fatty foods and obsessive artisanal baking—the croissant is a true test of any fancy local bakery’s bona fides. But with an obscene amount of b   More
 
Wednesday, June 15, 2011 WW Culture Staff

Dinner In Lyon’s Den

Aaron Barnett’s St. Jack puts its best pig’s foot forward.


Food Reviews & Stories
Having thoroughly Portlandized the cuisine of the American Southeast, our local restaurateurs have cast their gaze eastward   More
 
Wednesday, June 8, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close