Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Brasserie 3: The Brassering

Brasserie Montmartre returns from the grave—again.


Food Reviews & Stories
Our story thus far: In 1978, the same year voters approved the creation of the nation’s first urban growth boundary and WW declared the Bee Gees artists of the year   More
 
Wednesday, July 13, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Daniel Klein, The Perennial Plate


Food Reviews & Stories
I’ve been hungrily video-stalking Daniel Klein for over a month. One week he was hanging out with a Vietnamese fisherman on the Gulf Coast; another he was trailing shiitake mushroom farmers in the   More
 
Wednesday, July 6, 2011 KELLY CLARKE

Kitchen Playground

Aviary sets taste buds—and imaginations—aflutter.


Food Reviews & Stories
Note: After this review went to press, an illegal firework caused a fire on Aviary's roof. The restaurant is temporarily closed, but we'll let you know on wweek.com as soon as it reopens its doors.&   More
 
Wednesday, July 6, 2011 BRIAN PANGANIBAN

The Hot Chick

Cackalack’s Hot Chicken Shack


Food Reviews & Stories
I made four visits to Cackalack’s Hot Chicken Shack before I could try the sandwich that the eatery—housed in a nondescript metal trailer—calls its marquee item. On the first visit I was just    More
 
Wednesday, June 29, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Eat Your Greens

Natural Selection throws a party for vegetables.


Food Reviews & Stories
Natural Selection is a vegetable restaurant. That’s no typo—the new upscale supper club from chef and Vita Cafe owner Aaron Woo may be meat-free, but lumping it in the “vegetarian” category    More
 
Wednesday, June 22, 2011 RUTH BROWN

Butter Me Up

In search of Portland’s best croissant.


Food Reviews & Stories
Marrying two fine Portland traditions—gorging on fatty foods and obsessive artisanal baking—the croissant is a true test of any fancy local bakery’s bona fides. But with an obscene amount of b   More
 
Wednesday, June 15, 2011 WW Culture Staff

Dinner In Lyon’s Den

Aaron Barnett’s St. Jack puts its best pig’s foot forward.


Food Reviews & Stories
Having thoroughly Portlandized the cuisine of the American Southeast, our local restaurateurs have cast their gaze eastward   More
 
Wednesday, June 8, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Let Them Eat Cake

Emilie Dessert Cafe offers a taste of Europe in the suburbs.


Food Reviews & Stories
All right. Caribbean-themed dance club: check. Lexus dealership: check. Vegas-style VIP room: check. How to round out the gamut of hedonistic delights on a less-than-quaint stretch of Southwest Can   More
 
Wednesday, June 1, 2011 JOANNA MILLER

A Tavern By Any Other Name

Sunshine Tavern is neither sunny nor a tavern. Discuss.


Food Reviews & Stories
Let’s get the griping out of the way first: The Sunshine Tavern is not a tavern. It is many delightful things: a beautiful room   More
 
Wednesday, May 25, 2011 BECKY OHLSEN

Sweet Pea’s Brulee


Food Reviews & Stories
When life gives you diabetes, make crème brûlée. That’s exactly what owners of food cart Sweet Pea’s Brulee do nearly every day. Co-owner Tim Bergam was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes four y   More
 
Wednesday, May 25, 2011 KAREN LOCKE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close