Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories
 

Can I Get A Ramen?

One man’s quest for the best bowl in Portland.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portlanders love comfort food, and there’s no Japanese food more comforting than a hot bowl of ramen. We spent some chilly winter nights sampling 20 bowls at 13 restaurants around town. Ramen, a    More
 
Wednesday, April 13, 2011 NICK ZUKIN

The Money In The Cup


Food Reviews & Stories
Your morning cup has gotten more expensive of late. Why? Raw, green coffee beans now cost more than they have at any point in the past 14 years. There are a lot of reported reasons for this state o   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

What About Decaf?


Food Reviews & Stories
Most of Portland’s more than 40 coffee roasters are turning out exceptional beans for those of us who don’t mind caffeine, but what about those among us who love coffee but have been warned off the hard stuff?   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

A TOAST To Craft Distilleries


Food Reviews & Stories
It is a cliché of Portland’s food-centric marketing that we are ground zero for the wave of small, so-called craft distilleries that have popped up all over America in the past decade. It’s a    More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Klatch Of 2011

Portland’s newest coffeehouses, rated.


Food Reviews & Stories
What makes a good coffeehouse? It’s more than just good coffee; with an hour’s practice, you can prepare a world-class cup at home. And it’s not free Wi-Fi or great baked goods or art on the w   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 WW Culture Staff

Seven Habits For Highly Caffeinated People

Drink it fresh—really fresh.


Food Reviews & Stories
So you’ve bought a $16 bag of Ethiopia Yirgacheffe from your local microroaster. How long do you have to drink it before all that dollar-an-ounce specialness is gone? According to Courier Coffee    More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Better Brewers


Food Reviews & Stories
While pour-over has become the standard at the city’s finest cafes, home coffee geeks have been steadily expanding their arsenals of java-related gadgetry. Where once the Chemex and French press    More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Crust Punk

Sizzle pie is only rock ’n’ roll—but we like it.


Food Reviews & Stories
With no real indigenous pizza style to call our own, Portland’s late-blossoming pizza scene is often defined by its torchbearers   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 RUTH BROWN

Pigeon Palace

Gabe Rucker’s Little Bird both sings and squawks.


Food Reviews & Stories
The menu at Little Bird Bistro, the new French restaurant opened in December by Le Pigeon chef Gabe Rucker, takes a page from Larousse Gastronomique, the authoritative encyclopedia of Gallic eating.    More
 
Wednesday, March 23, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

Devour: Juanita’s Corn Tortilla Chips

The crack cocaine of the chip aisle.


Food Reviews & Stories
Portland grocery-store aisles are lands of salty, fatty opportunity for snack-food fans, but when it comes to a tortilla chip that sets the crispy gold standard, it’s all about locally made Juani   More
 
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 TIFFANY STUBBERT
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close