Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Food Reviews & Stories

Ha Ha

Food Reviews & Stories
Ha & VL is like a Vietnamese version of the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld, except when they say, “No soup for you,” they apologize. The tiny shop serves two different soups each day except Tuesday (ne   More
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

That Is All

Why I Hope Yelp's “Death Spiral” Ends Somewhere Near Myspace

Food Reviews & Stories
Dear Yelp, How’s it going? Ya hangin’ in there, buddy? I’ve been hearing all sorts of terrible things about you on the Internet—you’re in a “death spiral,” according to Forbes—and I ju   More
Tuesday, August 11, 2015 SERVICE INDUSTRY WORKER

Just Dua It

The Doi Dua pop-up is Portland’s new best Vietnamese restaurant.

Food Reviews & Stories
Portland’s first Vietnamese restaurants began popping up in the 1970s, just as America’s war in Southeast Asia was winding down. Though many Vietnamese refugees who landed here moved on to the Gul   More
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Keep it Poppin’

A few of our favorite Portland Pop-Ups.

Food Reviews & Stories
Pop-ups just keep popping up. With rare exception, each is an impecunious young chef’s road test for grander ambitions that may or may not pan out. The irregular hours and changeable locations can b   More
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 WW Culture Staff

Southern Soul

Fine-dining Italian is dominated by northern fare. Can Bellino make the south rise again?

Food Reviews & Stories
In the first century of Italian-American cuisine, nothing north of Naples mattered. The vast majority of the Italian immigrants who migrated to this country in the late 1800s and early 1900s came from   More
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Marmo, Reviewed

Food Reviews & Stories
The best thing I’ve eaten at the West End’s Marmo is also by far the simplest. The humble Italian sub ($11) is light, classic and almost perfect—a balance of fatty mortadella, spicy coppa and sa   More
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Donut Byte Labs: Doughnut Review

Food Reviews & Stories
We have met our new mini-doughnut robot overlord, and its name is Donut Byte Labs. Look, I love me some Pip's robot-made mini-doughnuts straight off the boiler—luscious cake    More
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Mi Piace Troppo: Renata Reviewed

The young Renata has some nice moves and fantastic pasta. But there’s work to do.

Food Reviews & Stories
Lunch plans had to be canceled—Nick Arnerich knew that right away. When Arnerich’s new, wood-fired Italian restaurant, Renata, was chosen as The Oregonian’s favorite new spot in its annual res   More
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MARTIN CIZMAR

Summer Lovin’

The pop-up romance with Lil’ Wares’ General Tso sandwich will be short but intense.

Food Reviews & Stories
Like a new love born at Coachella, Lil’ Wares was never meant to last. Consider it a summer fling, equal parts exciting and doomed. When the quaint Red Fig restaurant closed down this spring on No   More
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Battered and Fried

Batter Griddle & Drinkery is sloppy drunk food.

Food Reviews & Stories
If Cheech and Chong opened a restaurant honoring their weed-humor heyday, I’m certain it would bear an uncanny resemblance to Batter Griddle & Drinkery. Batter, which opened to much fanfare in M   More
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 MICHAEL C. ZUSMAN

Web Design for magazines