Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Doubleplusgood

Here They Come, The Birds Of My Youth (Sohitek)


Album Reviews
[ELECTRONIC POP] The air of romantic and erotic longing that presides over Doubleplusgood’s latest CD might be hard to breathe in without some effort. This drums-and-electronics duo doesn’t push   More
 
Wednesday, August 24, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Mattress

Lonely Souls EP (Field Hymns)


Album Reviews
[DARK ELECTRONICS] Most bands go for the lapel grab, insisting on your attention from the first notes of the first song of a live set or album. The rare and often more interesting bands prefer to s   More
 
Wednesday, August 24, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Rob Wynia

Iron By Water (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[NAKED SONGS] The first time I heard Rob Wynia’s solo recordings, he was experimenting with soundscapes and edgy spoken-word pieces. I was shocked at how far off course the material was from the    More
 
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Your Rival

Seven Sparkling Children (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SONGS] I don’t think I ask too much of pop songs. I want them to physically move me and say something interesting or clever. In fact, if a song can do one of those two things well, I’ll tak   More
 
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Sapient

Eaters Vol. One: Tusks! (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BEATS AND BLASTS] Sapient might be too good at his day job of selling beats. While the Sandpeople Producer/MC’s new collection, Eaters Volume One: Tusks!—the first in a planned series of Mad L   More
 
Wednesday, August 10, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Adderall Canyonly

The Ascension of St. Diamond and the Battles of Oxtest (Field Hymns)


Album Reviews
[ABSTRACT ELECTRONIC] The term “mind-blowing” has lost a little of its potency. It always seemed like an incomplete thought to begin with (blowing up? blowing out? blowing smoke?), but at the he   More
 
Wednesday, August 10, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Cool Nutz

The Cook-Up (Free Download at raphater.com)


Album Reviews
[RAP TO THE FUTURE] With each new release, veteran Portland MC Cool Nutz believes he is completely reinventing himself. He’s only partly right. The Cook-Up indeed represents a change in direction   More
 
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Rachel Taylor Brown

World So Sweet (Penury Pop)


Album Reviews
[PIANO SONGS] Rachel Taylor Brown knows how to make an entrance: With a roomful of 50 pianos playing the same notes for two minutes straight. After that, one half expects Liza Minnelli to jump out    More
 
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Dusks Embrace

The Twilight Enigma (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[DEATH METAL] Is it possible to record an understated death-metal album? I certainly didn’t think so, but Dusks Embrace has proven me wrong. Certainly, the second full-length by this Salem quart   More
 
Wednesday, July 20, 2011 ROBERT HAM

7-Inch Review: The Bugs

Double O-Yeah…And Other Hits (Labil)


Album Reviews
[BASEMENT POP-PUNK] Most bands struggle with the 7-inch format: Picking a pair of songs that put an act’s best foot forward, while working within the time constraints of the medium, is no easy ch   More
 
Wednesday, June 29, 2011 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close