Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Destro

Ill.ustrated (Vinyl Fluid Records)


Album Reviews
[RETURN OF THE BOOM BAP] You’d expect a new release from a veteran Northwest MC to sound a little old school. And Ill.ustrated—the new disc from longtime Portland MC Destro, a founding member of    More
 
Wednesday, April 27, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Red Fang

Murder The Mountains (Relapse)


Album Reviews
[HEAVINESS] The folks that pay attention to stuff like this (us music geeks) will notice two interesting things on the packaging of Red Fang’s second full-length LP: the logo for Relapse Records    More
 
Wednesday, April 27, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Blue Skies For Black Hearts

Embracing The Modern Age (Super Big Ltd.)


Album Reviews
[HERE’S YOUR FUTURE] It’s hard to fault Blues Skies for Black Hearts for being out of touch. The power-poppy quartet—led by bespectacled frontman Pat Kearns—sticks to a (relatively) simple    More
 
Wednesday, April 20, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Illmaculate & G_Force

The Green Tape (Self-Released Free Download)


Album Reviews
[REAL TALK] Illmaculate and G_Force’s concept seemed ambitious and restrictive all at once: They would take Al Green’s 2008 return-to-form record, Lay It Down, and rework each track, in order,   More
 
Wednesday, April 20, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Adventures! With Might

Self-Titled Cassette (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[BEEP BEEP BANG] From the opening moments of “Val Kilmore,” the first song on Adventures! With Might’s self-titled debut full-length, I expect to hear Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan coming in wit   More
 
Wednesday, April 13, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Luck-One

True Theory (Focused Noise)


Album Reviews
[HIP-HOP] Luck-One is nothing if not enthusiastic. The MC’s bombastic excitement is understandable, considering he spent most of the aughts in prison. And that stint also explains why, since 2009,   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Typhoon

A New Kind Of House (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[BIG-KID POP] It’s a delicate balance we seek from our favorite bands: We want them, upon releasing new material, to take us somewhere familiar, but we don’t want them to go where they’ve alre   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Reviews: White Fang

Grateful To Shred (Marriage Records)


Album Reviews
[HIGH AND MIGHTY] I probably don’t need to mention that White Fang’s new record, Grateful to Shred, sounds like shit. That’s par for the course, and it’s a good thing. The band has spent the   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: And And And

Life Ruiner (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[LO-FI BREAKTHROUGH] On my last count, local frenetic-pop sextet And And And released 45 songs in the past year. I’m probably a little off—does a mixtape count as one track?—but the sheer amou   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: The Physical Hearts

Shepherd’s Gun (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SHREDZ] A singer’s voice can win a band my instant affection or instant dismissal. Neko Case had me at hello. Staind’s Aaron Lewis became my mortal enemy for life the first time I heard �   More
 
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close