Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Blitzen Trapper

American Goldwing (Sub Pop)


Album Reviews
[WEIRD AMERICANA] Blitzen Trapper tends to write checks, in its opening songs, that its albums don’t care to cash. That was the case with the proggy opener to last year’s Destroyer of the Void,    More
 
Wednesday, September 7, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: YACHT

Shangri-La (DFA Records)


Album Reviews
[DISCO INFERNO] The fifth album by the discofied pop outfit YACHT is also the second to feature a solidified lineup of leader Jona Bechtolt with ingénue/foil Claire Evans. Not that she follows Bec   More
 
Wednesday, September 7, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Big Black Cloud

Shitty Vibrations (Stankhouse)


Album Reviews
[FUZZ BOMBS] As its mid-career name change might imply, Big Black Cloud (formerly “Here Comes a Big Black Cloud!”) isn’t the same band it was while soundtracking summer house shows with its c   More
 
Wednesday, August 31, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Vanimal

Self-Titled EP (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[SLICK SYNTH-POP] O come, all ye corporate America heatseekers, I have the perfect 30-second snippet for your next iPad/Target/Electric car ad. “Lift Me Up,” the opening track from Vanimal’s    More
 
Wednesday, August 31, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Doubleplusgood

Here They Come, The Birds Of My Youth (Sohitek)


Album Reviews
[ELECTRONIC POP] The air of romantic and erotic longing that presides over Doubleplusgood’s latest CD might be hard to breathe in without some effort. This drums-and-electronics duo doesn’t push   More
 
Wednesday, August 24, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Mattress

Lonely Souls EP (Field Hymns)


Album Reviews
[DARK ELECTRONICS] Most bands go for the lapel grab, insisting on your attention from the first notes of the first song of a live set or album. The rare and often more interesting bands prefer to s   More
 
Wednesday, August 24, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Rob Wynia

Iron By Water (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[NAKED SONGS] The first time I heard Rob Wynia’s solo recordings, he was experimenting with soundscapes and edgy spoken-word pieces. I was shocked at how far off course the material was from the    More
 
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Your Rival

Seven Sparkling Children (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SONGS] I don’t think I ask too much of pop songs. I want them to physically move me and say something interesting or clever. In fact, if a song can do one of those two things well, I’ll tak   More
 
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Sapient

Eaters Vol. One: Tusks! (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[BEATS AND BLASTS] Sapient might be too good at his day job of selling beats. While the Sandpeople Producer/MC’s new collection, Eaters Volume One: Tusks!—the first in a planned series of Mad L   More
 
Wednesday, August 10, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Adderall Canyonly

The Ascension of St. Diamond and the Battles of Oxtest (Field Hymns)


Album Reviews
[ABSTRACT ELECTRONIC] The term “mind-blowing” has lost a little of its potency. It always seemed like an incomplete thought to begin with (blowing up? blowing out? blowing smoke?), but at the he   More
 
Wednesday, August 10, 2011 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close