Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: The Physical Hearts

Shepherd’s Gun (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SHREDZ] A singer’s voice can win a band my instant affection or instant dismissal. Neko Case had me at hello. Staind’s Aaron Lewis became my mortal enemy for life the first time I heard �   More
 
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Morning Teleportation

Expanding Anyway (Glacial Pace)


Album Reviews
[THE LONESOME CROWDED NORTHWEST] Ever since moving to Portland in 2008, Morning Teleportation has been tagged the Next Big Thing.   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Eternal Tapestry

Beyond The 4th Door (Thrill Jockey)


Album Reviews
[SACRAMENTAL VISIONS] It must be devastating for other bands to hear albums like Beyond the 4th Door. They rehearse their songs into the ground, stressing over every note and beat. Then here comes E   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Loch Lomond

Little Me Will Start A Storm (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[WEIRDO OPERA] In the eyes of those haggard, cynical souls who haven’t been out to a local show in the past decade or so, Portland’s music scene has    More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Radiation City

The Hands That Take You (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[POST-WHATEVER] Moody, trip-hop-inspired indie pop. That’s what I’d call the music on Radiation City’s new full-length, The Hands That Take You. The local trio, which   More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Rabbits

Lower Forms (Relapse)


Album Reviews
[PDX SLUDGE] Scan the liner notes of local metal outfit Rabbits’ new record, Lower Forms, and you’ll find a surprising note: Lower Forms was recorded at Type Foundry studios. For the uninitiated, this is somewhat of    More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Water & Bodies

Light Year (Eyos Records)


Album Reviews
[ALT-ROCK WILL NEVER DIE] Now that the Decemberists have hit No. 1 on the Billboard charts, the idea that a local group can go from a practice space on East Burnside to    More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: The Decemberists

The King is Dead (Capitol Records)


Album Reviews
[FOREFATHERS OF TWEE] Upon the release of the Decemberists’ The King Is Dead, we ran 10 writers’ takes on the album’s 10 songs. The idea was to see the full range of responses, from hatred to fawning adulation, that   More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Rafael Vigilantics

The Orgasm Of A Ghost


Album Reviews
[WESTERN EXPERIMENTAL RAP] I give a lot of credit for ambition, and Portland MC Rafael Vigilantics is an ambitious dude. He tries to reinvent hip-hop outright on The Orgasm of a Ghost (yup, that’s the title),
   More
 
Wednesday, February 9, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Quiet Life

Big Green (Safety Meeting)


Album Reviews
[MUSIC FROM BIG GREEN] Brothers Sean and Ryan Spellman grew up in the swamps of New Jersey, just outside of Asbury Park. The story in their byline—and in the songs by their   More
 
Wednesday, February 9, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close