Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Ash Black Bufflo

Andasol (Knitting Factory Records)


Album Reviews
[CINEMATIC POST-ROCK] Local music obsessives who pore over the liner notes of their LPs and CDs will probably recognize the name of Jay Clarke. Since moving to Portland, he has been a member of the   More
 
Wednesday, May 18, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: New Century Schoolbook

Don’t Hold Your Breath (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[SHOW-TUNE TWEE] New Century Schoolbook is an orchestral pop quintet composed of what I suspect are ex-drama students. They are literary and enamored of the twee-er edges of pop, and they express t   More
 
Wednesday, May 11, 2011 SHANE DANAHER

Album Review: Destro

Ill.ustrated (Vinyl Fluid Records)


Album Reviews
[RETURN OF THE BOOM BAP] You’d expect a new release from a veteran Northwest MC to sound a little old school. And Ill.ustrated—the new disc from longtime Portland MC Destro, a founding member of    More
 
Wednesday, April 27, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Red Fang

Murder The Mountains (Relapse)


Album Reviews
[HEAVINESS] The folks that pay attention to stuff like this (us music geeks) will notice two interesting things on the packaging of Red Fang’s second full-length LP: the logo for Relapse Records    More
 
Wednesday, April 27, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Blue Skies For Black Hearts

Embracing The Modern Age (Super Big Ltd.)


Album Reviews
[HERE’S YOUR FUTURE] It’s hard to fault Blues Skies for Black Hearts for being out of touch. The power-poppy quartet—led by bespectacled frontman Pat Kearns—sticks to a (relatively) simple    More
 
Wednesday, April 20, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Illmaculate & G_Force

The Green Tape (Self-Released Free Download)


Album Reviews
[REAL TALK] Illmaculate and G_Force’s concept seemed ambitious and restrictive all at once: They would take Al Green’s 2008 return-to-form record, Lay It Down, and rework each track, in order,   More
 
Wednesday, April 20, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Adventures! With Might

Self-Titled Cassette (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[BEEP BEEP BANG] From the opening moments of “Val Kilmore,” the first song on Adventures! With Might’s self-titled debut full-length, I expect to hear Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan coming in wit   More
 
Wednesday, April 13, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Luck-One

True Theory (Focused Noise)


Album Reviews
[HIP-HOP] Luck-One is nothing if not enthusiastic. The MC’s bombastic excitement is understandable, considering he spent most of the aughts in prison. And that stint also explains why, since 2009,   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Typhoon

A New Kind Of House (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[BIG-KID POP] It’s a delicate balance we seek from our favorite bands: We want them, upon releasing new material, to take us somewhere familiar, but we don’t want them to go where they’ve alre   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Reviews: White Fang

Grateful To Shred (Marriage Records)


Album Reviews
[HIGH AND MIGHTY] I probably don’t need to mention that White Fang’s new record, Grateful to Shred, sounds like shit. That’s par for the course, and it’s a good thing. The band has spent the   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close