Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Luck-One

True Theory (Focused Noise)


Album Reviews
[HIP-HOP] Luck-One is nothing if not enthusiastic. The MC’s bombastic excitement is understandable, considering he spent most of the aughts in prison. And that stint also explains why, since 2009,   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Typhoon

A New Kind Of House (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[BIG-KID POP] It’s a delicate balance we seek from our favorite bands: We want them, upon releasing new material, to take us somewhere familiar, but we don’t want them to go where they’ve alre   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Reviews: White Fang

Grateful To Shred (Marriage Records)


Album Reviews
[HIGH AND MIGHTY] I probably don’t need to mention that White Fang’s new record, Grateful to Shred, sounds like shit. That’s par for the course, and it’s a good thing. The band has spent the   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: And And And

Life Ruiner (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[LO-FI BREAKTHROUGH] On my last count, local frenetic-pop sextet And And And released 45 songs in the past year. I’m probably a little off—does a mixtape count as one track?—but the sheer amou   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: The Physical Hearts

Shepherd’s Gun (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SHREDZ] A singer’s voice can win a band my instant affection or instant dismissal. Neko Case had me at hello. Staind’s Aaron Lewis became my mortal enemy for life the first time I heard �   More
 
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Morning Teleportation

Expanding Anyway (Glacial Pace)


Album Reviews
[THE LONESOME CROWDED NORTHWEST] Ever since moving to Portland in 2008, Morning Teleportation has been tagged the Next Big Thing.   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Eternal Tapestry

Beyond The 4th Door (Thrill Jockey)


Album Reviews
[SACRAMENTAL VISIONS] It must be devastating for other bands to hear albums like Beyond the 4th Door. They rehearse their songs into the ground, stressing over every note and beat. Then here comes E   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Loch Lomond

Little Me Will Start A Storm (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[WEIRDO OPERA] In the eyes of those haggard, cynical souls who haven’t been out to a local show in the past decade or so, Portland’s music scene has    More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Radiation City

The Hands That Take You (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[POST-WHATEVER] Moody, trip-hop-inspired indie pop. That’s what I’d call the music on Radiation City’s new full-length, The Hands That Take You. The local trio, which   More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Rabbits

Lower Forms (Relapse)


Album Reviews
[PDX SLUDGE] Scan the liner notes of local metal outfit Rabbits’ new record, Lower Forms, and you’ll find a surprising note: Lower Forms was recorded at Type Foundry studios. For the uninitiated, this is somewhat of    More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close