Home · Articles · Music · Album Reviews
 

Album Review: Typhoon

A New Kind Of House (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[BIG-KID POP] It’s a delicate balance we seek from our favorite bands: We want them, upon releasing new material, to take us somewhere familiar, but we don’t want them to go where they’ve alre   More
 
Wednesday, April 6, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Reviews: White Fang

Grateful To Shred (Marriage Records)


Album Reviews
[HIGH AND MIGHTY] I probably don’t need to mention that White Fang’s new record, Grateful to Shred, sounds like shit. That’s par for the course, and it’s a good thing. The band has spent the   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: And And And

Life Ruiner (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[LO-FI BREAKTHROUGH] On my last count, local frenetic-pop sextet And And And released 45 songs in the past year. I’m probably a little off—does a mixtape count as one track?—but the sheer amou   More
 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: The Physical Hearts

Shepherd’s Gun (Self-Released)


Album Reviews
[POP SHREDZ] A singer’s voice can win a band my instant affection or instant dismissal. Neko Case had me at hello. Staind’s Aaron Lewis became my mortal enemy for life the first time I heard �   More
 
Wednesday, March 16, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Morning Teleportation

Expanding Anyway (Glacial Pace)


Album Reviews
[THE LONESOME CROWDED NORTHWEST] Ever since moving to Portland in 2008, Morning Teleportation has been tagged the Next Big Thing.   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Eternal Tapestry

Beyond The 4th Door (Thrill Jockey)


Album Reviews
[SACRAMENTAL VISIONS] It must be devastating for other bands to hear albums like Beyond the 4th Door. They rehearse their songs into the ground, stressing over every note and beat. Then here comes E   More
 
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 ROBERT HAM

Album Review: Loch Lomond

Little Me Will Start A Storm (Tender Loving Empire)


Album Reviews
[WEIRDO OPERA] In the eyes of those haggard, cynical souls who haven’t been out to a local show in the past decade or so, Portland’s music scene has    More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Radiation City

The Hands That Take You (Apes Tapes)


Album Reviews
[POST-WHATEVER] Moody, trip-hop-inspired indie pop. That’s what I’d call the music on Radiation City’s new full-length, The Hands That Take You. The local trio, which   More
 
Wednesday, February 23, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Album Review: Rabbits

Lower Forms (Relapse)


Album Reviews
[PDX SLUDGE] Scan the liner notes of local metal outfit Rabbits’ new record, Lower Forms, and you’ll find a surprising note: Lower Forms was recorded at Type Foundry studios. For the uninitiated, this is somewhat of    More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER

Album Review: Water & Bodies

Light Year (Eyos Records)


Album Reviews
[ALT-ROCK WILL NEVER DIE] Now that the Decemberists have hit No. 1 on the Billboard charts, the idea that a local group can go from a practice space on East Burnside to    More
 
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 MICHAEL MANNHEIMER
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close