Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Bar Reviews
 

TARDIS Room: Fish and Spaceships


Bar Reviews
For those of you who don’t have BBC America, Doctor Who is a long-running TV show about a time-traveling alien. So if you fancy some sci-fi geekery and a chance to get off with some authentic fi   More
 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012 AARON SPENCER

Interurban: From the Ashes


Bar Reviews
A less brazen publican might have taken an opening-weekend fire as a sign to throw in the towel, but the men behind Interurban (4057 N Mississippi Ave., interurbanpdx.com) are no shrinking violets.    More
 
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 BEN WATERHOUSE

Ivories Jazz Lounge and Restaurant: Lush Life


Bar Reviews
 Mark Simon’s head is shaped like a fishbowl. But then, I’m looking at the Portland pianist, between bites of my creamy Pacific Coast Seafood Pasta ($16.50), through the distorting lens of an oversized and underfunded tip jar...    More
 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Bula Kava House: Coconut Cups


Bar Reviews
Kava tastes like dirt. That’s not figurative language, nor is it a reason to pass on Bula Kava House (3115 SE Division St., bulakavahouse.com), a cafe serving the drink made with the mildly psycho   More
 
Wednesday, January 11, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Moscow Bar: Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears


Bar Reviews
The first time I tried to visit Moscow Bar (16015 SE Stark St.), I got as far as the front door   More
 
Wednesday, January 4, 2012 CASEY JARMAN

Sylvan Steakhouse and Saloon: Meat in the Mountains


Bar Reviews
For those of us generally stuck commuting between Portland’s inner East and West sides, a trip through the woods of Southwest Portland to the Sylvan Steakhouse and Saloon (5515 SW Canyon Court,    More
 
Wednesday, December 28, 2011 CASEY JARMAN

Bar Review: Enso Urban Winery


Bar Reviews
“Until last year we were in a garage,” says the sprightly woman pouring a flight of Enso wine. She means to elicit surprise. The effect is muted since the cavernous warehouse is still, technic   More
 
Wednesday, December 21, 2011 MARTIN CIZMAR

Proof: Burden of Proof


Bar Reviews
Soft-opened some four months ago in a space previously occupied by half of Cup and Saucer, Proof (3564 SE Hawthorne Blvd., 236-6001) is a welcome addition to Hawthorne’s relatively nightlife-light   More
 
Wednesday, December 14, 2011 JONATHAN FROCHTZWAJG

YOLO Lounge: Carpe Diem


Bar Reviews
According to its Twitter page, the curious moniker of YOLO Lounge (412 SW 4th Ave., 719-6901, yololounge.com) is an acronym for the cavernous sushi joint/dance club's motto, “You only live onc   More
 
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 BEN WATERHOUSE

The Old Gold: Solid Gold


Bar Reviews
There are plenty of reasons for Willamette Week to dis new North Portland bar The Old Gold (2105 N Killingsworth St., 894-8937). For starters, it’s co-owned by former Portland Mercury music editor E   More
 
Wednesday, November 30, 2011 RUTH BROWN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close