Home · Articles · Food & Drink · Bar Reviews

Tavin’s Pub: Opening Act

Bar Reviews
Just a stone’s throw from Wonder Ballroom, Tavin’s Pub (102 NE Russell St., 719-4890, tavinspub.com) is your classic pre-game bar. The interior is clean. TV sets, including a big projector, ar   More
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 JOHN LOCANTHI

Rooster’s Pub: Hiding In the Barn

Bar Reviews
Hidden away in a red shanty in the wasteland of far North Portland, Rooster’s Pub (605 N Columbia Blvd., 289-1351) feels like a place that doesn’t want to be found. The two staircases visible    More
Wednesday, September 5, 2012 JOHN LOCANTHI

Bin 21: Tipple the Iceberg

Bar Reviews
If the first round of Alberta Street gentrification brought families with biodynamic veggie patches and a penchant for naked fire-twirling, the second will bring whoever is intended to live inside   More
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 RUTH BROWN

The Pitiful Princess Gentlemen’s Club: Stripperella

Bar Reviews
The Pitiful Princess Gentlemen’s Club (12646 SE Division St., 954-1019) draws rancor, mostly because of its name. Some find it offensive because little girls are obsessed with pink and princesse   More
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 JOHN LOCANTHI

Mellow Mushroom: In a Mellow Mood

Bar Reviews
Mellow Mushroom (1411 NW Flanders St., 224-9019, mellowmushroom.com) does not make good pizza. This is no great revelation. More surprising is that the Pearl District outlet of this Georgia-based    More
Wednesday, August 15, 2012 RUTH BROWN

Helvetia Tavern: Hell of a Time

Bar Reviews
You’ll drive down a long farm road and under a wooden train trellis before arriving at the doors of Helvetia Tavern (10275 NW Helvetia Road, Hillsboro, 647-5286, helvetiatavern.com). Since it firs   More
Wednesday, August 8, 2012 KIMBERLY HURSH

Jones: Younger Us

Bar Reviews
They don’t make Zima anymore. I know this because I tried to order the original alcopop at Jones (107 NW Couch St., 971-271-7178, jonesbarportland.com), the new ’80s- and ’90s-themed dance clu   More
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 MARTIN CIZMAR

Pink Rose: Every Rose Has Its Thorn

Bar Reviews
“Did anyone talk to you yet?” asks the chestnut-haired bartender after I finally get her attention. No, no one did. Nor would any of the waitstaff address me for almost the entirety of my Sa   More
Wednesday, July 25, 2012 ROBERT HAM

The Jack London Bar: Chic Lit

Bar Reviews
After walking through a brightly lit hall of middle-aged men playing pool and watching UFC, it’s vaguely disconcerting to descend a staircase and suddenly find yourself in a dim room full of e   More
Wednesday, July 11, 2012 RUTH BROWN

The Modern Man: Out of Sight

Bar Reviews
“Make me look like George Clooney.” It takes some gall to demand that of a barber, but I figure the stylists at Portland barbershop/bar The Modern Man (5018 NE 22nd Ave., 284-6008, themodernma   More
Wednesday, July 4, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER
Top Articles
No articles in this section

Web Design for magazines