Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories

Im Kino

The sixth annual German Film Fest screens banned films and metal bands.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Germany’s movies look about as cheery as its political arena nowadays. Its film exports in the past year included a disfigured concentration camp survivor in Pheonix, a deadly zomb   More
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 ENID SPITZ

Just a Reflektor

Arcade Fire’s film doc is a misfire for die-hards.

Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s a giant watermark splashed across the screen of my critic’s copy of The Reflektor Tapes, the new rock documentary from director Kahlil Joseph and Montreal’s Arcade Fire. That’s perfect   More
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

Pole Position

Showgirls is the best film about female strippers ever made.

Movie Reviews & Stories
If you think this is one of those clickbaity, contrarian stories in which I argue the virtues of trash-cinema favorite Showgirls, you’re wrong. Showgirls—showing Saturday at the Hollywood in much-   More
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 AP KRYZA

Maze Runner 2: Burnt Out

Another dystopian YA runs its course.

Movie Reviews & Stories
I didn’t see the first Maze Runner movie and I didn’t read the books, but I can guess the plot: The apocalypse happened, only a ragtag group of teenagers can save the world, and some kids fall mad   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

A Tale of Two Fishes

Think Cremaster Cycle as a shoestring rock opera.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Rachel Mason, an L.A. multimedia artist, has released 11 albums and successfully shown her sculptures, installations and films in New York, Chicago and Seattle. But she’s just realizing what being a   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 NATHAN CARSON

Johnny Depp in Black Mass

Movie Reviews & Stories
Much like the city’s other exports, Boston’s gangster flicks vary in quality from genre-shattering genius (The Departed, most ’90s bands, the people who invented America) to mind-numbing pantomi   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 JAMES HELMSWORTH

Blood on Our Hands

In Wes Craven’s canon, humanity is the most horrifying.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Like the best horror maestros, Wes Craven didn’t revolutionize the genre. But he refined it masterfully.  Slasher films existed long before Craven molded them into a self-aware, winking genre   More
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 AP KRYZA

Movie Review: 7 Chinese Brothers

No brothers, no point, but a really cute dog.

Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s the end of the world as we know it every summer in Hollywood. All those Earth-in-the-balance blockbusters eventually leave you totally apathetic about the apocalypse. Because    More
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

Original Glitter Queens

The Cockettes reveals a forgotten side of the ’60s.

Movie Reviews & Stories
To the masses, San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury scene of the 1960s evokes visions of flower children on acid trips and free love. But so much that defined the era gets glossed over, including a messia   More
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 AP KRYZA

Whose Wish Is This?

Batkid Begins is a super doc, but the reality might not be.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Part One: How I Felt During the Movie I only loosely paid attention to Batkid in November 2013, when he was a social-media phenom and pictures on Twitter showed part of San Francisco shutting down to   More
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 ALEX FALCONE
Top Articles
No articles in this section

Web Design for magazines