Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Cruising Along

Rogue Nation plays it safe. And that’s what saves this ship.


Movie Reviews & Stories
You’ve got lots of choices when it comes to actiony spy movies these days. You’ve got your Jameses Bond, your Jasons Bourne, your Kingsmen, and and and. So why come back to Mission: Impossible, th   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Kids Aren’t Alright

Harry Potter is fine at 35. These kids aren’t.


Movie Reviews & Stories
J.K. Rowling’s cash cow, Harry Potter, turns 35 this week, sparking a series of celebrations around the world in which fans use the fictional birthday of a fictional wizard as a very real excuse to    More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 AP KRYZA

Boogie Knights

Our picks for best drinking buddies in the Paul Thomas Anderson retrospective.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Paul Thomas Anderson’s best films, from his 1997 porn elegy Boogie Nights to last year’s psychedelic adaptation of Thomas Pynchon’s Inherent Vice, rank among the most important major releases of   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 JAY HORTON

Movie Review: Do I Sound Gay?

A documentarian tries to straighten his speech.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There is only one thing I look for in a successful documentary: Does it make me feel guilty about an issue I didn’t previously feel guilty about? Blackfish did, obviously, and Hoop Dreams, and all t   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The TriMet Trilogy

Portland filmmaker El Gato Negro wants hipsters to have a heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Howard Mitchell is old school. The Portland filmmaker behind the TriMet Trilogy showing at Mission Theater this Sunday cites such deadly earnest (and just plain dead) heavyweights as John Cassavetes,    More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

Dark and Stormy

NW Noir gets dark and divey.


Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s no surprise that Portland loves film noir. This is a city where throwback clothing is always in style. Rain and gloom drench our streets and seedy alleys. Shady developers—such a staple villa   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 AP KRYZA

Outside Amy’s Wheelhouse

Save yourself the ticket price of Apatow’s long ride.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I hate writing about comedians, because I love them too much. Amy Schumer is the absolute tops. She’s right about way more things than she’s wrong about, and she’s absolutely killing it on your    More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Tangerine: Movie Review

Hollywood filmed by iPhone has a lot of heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
At first glance, Tangerine resembles a debut film. Shot on an iPhone and featuring two first-timers in the leading roles, Sean Baker’s fifth feature is full of creative decisions that would appear t   More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

Mr. Holmes: Movie Review

In this case, even McKellen isn’t worth the buzz.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s a reason we don’t often follow our heroes into the sunset: It’s not that we don’t care what happens to them. It’s just that retirement is pretty boring and aging is depressing.    More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 AP KRYZA

Hollywood Dreams

The rise and fall and rise of Portland’s true movie palace.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Looking at the Hollywood Theatre today, it would be reasonable to think that little has changed since its glory days, which spanned from the vaudevillian shows of 1926 to the Cinerama screenings start   More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 AP KRYZA
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close