Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

The Third Man: Movie Review

The shadows are alive in a restored noir classic.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The past 66 years have been kind to Carol Reed’s The Third Man. It’s lauded as one of the finest examples of film noir and one of the greatest cinematic achievements of all time.    More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 AP KRYZA

High Cinema

Pot’s legal! Grass explores a time when it wasn’t.


Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s time! After years and years of abstaining, we finally get to see what happens when you mix the joy of going to the movies with what medical patients, assumed chronic masturbators and criminals    More
 
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 AP KRYZA

Robot Reboot: Terminator Genisys, Reviewed

Arnold is the only magnet in this indeterminable replay.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I know you’re really worried about this, so I’m just going to say it up top: Yes, Arnold Schwarzwhatever says “I’ll be back” in this movie. Isn’t that a relief?  We were all sitting   More
 
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Overnight: Swingin’ For The Fences

The Overnight is 98 percent awkward, 2 percent sexy.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Let me try a phrase on you: “The best sex comedy at Sundance.” That’s what Rolling Stone said of The Overnight, and that single plaudit gives you a lot of reasons not to see this movie. Here are   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Tears for Joy

Tigard’s Joy Cinema cries for help.


Movie Reviews & Stories
It happens every Wednesday. Movie geeks, fueled by beer and pizza, flock by the dozens for a barrage of weirdness: grindhouse films so obscure even Tarantino might scratch his head. Schlocky horror. U   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 AP KRYZA

The Infinitesimal Sadness

Pixar’s Inside Out will make you laugh and cry. But mostly cry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I cried at a Corona commercial a couple weeks back, so I’m not a good barometer for this kind of thing, but I wept during Inside Out, the new feature from the nearly flawless Pixar Animation Stu   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

AP Film Studies: Father’s Day Of Reckoning

What the movies have taught me about fatherhood.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Three months ago, my movie-viewing outlook changed dramatically. That happens when you become a first-time dad. Suddenly, with the birth of James Bodhi Thornhill Humungous Kryza, I find myself m   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 AP KRYZA

Clever Girl

A 10-year-old’s advice for surviving Jurassic World.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Yet again Hollywood decided it didn’t need my opinion of a major motion picture, so they screened it after my press deadline. But the man can’t hold me down! Instead of reviewing Jurassic Wo   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Nightmare: Movie Review

Sleep paralysis looks haunting in this new documentary.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Conveying the surreal power of dreams is nearly impossible, whether onscreen or in conversation. They have their own logic, of course, plus inexplicable time and hazy details that are difficul   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

AP Film Studies: Grant’s Land

His Girl Friday’s fast talk hides a deranged mind.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Hannibal Lecter managed to seduce the FBI’s top minds with his devious charm. Alex DeLarge controlled an army of droogs. Ferris Bueller duped the entire city of Chicago to do his bidding so he   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 AP KRYZA
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close