Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Epic Fault

The geophysics of San Andreas’ Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson in an earthquake.


Movie Reviews & Stories
San Andreas didn’t screen by our press deadline, despite my repeated letters to the president of Hollywood insisting that an alternative Portland newsweekly is the true center of the cinematic   More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Last Days: Movie Review


Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: The Seattle setting is to Portland as Michael Pitt’s downward spiraling rocker Blake is to Kurt Cobain. There’s an aura of the iconic Pacific Northwest, but we’d rather   More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 WW Staff

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

A Swedish, centenarian Forrest Gump.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Cinema is a peerless cultural ambassador. It cracks entire worlds open and connects us intimately with places we’ll never visit and people we’ll never know. Sometimes, as with The 100-Year-O   More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

AP Film Studies: Open-Air Cinema

Your guide to Portland’s outdoor movie season.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Summer offers a real conundrum for nerds. Sure, you want to get outside and enjoy all that fresh air your friends keep talking about, but then how will you watch The Goonies for the 3,000th time   More
 
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 AP KRYZA

Iris

Grey Gardens’ documentarian profiles a 93-year-old fashion eccentric.


Movie Reviews & Stories
In Grey Gardens, Onassis relative Little Edie obsessively wraps and rewraps her head scarf to make it perfect, in a bedroom with holes in the walls and cat litter strewn around her feet. In Ir   More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 ENID SPITZ

Slow West

The Old West, with a Scotsman’s twist.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Slow West feels like propaganda made to discourage anyone from time-traveling back to the Old West. At one point, a man gets shot in the chest. As he falls, a stray bullet hits a salt jar on a    More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Elephant


Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: The 2003 film’s notoriously long shots wind through Portland’s former Whitaker Middle School at Northeast 39th Avenue and Killingsworth Street, a soul-sucking labyrinth    More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 WW MOVIE STAFF

AP Film Studies: Déjà View

Hitchcock and the art of the remake.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Our Facebook and Twitter feeds tell us a lot about the world. If we vaccinate our children, they will grow tentacles. Obama once ate a kitten. And Hollywood is perhaps the most prolific sexual p   More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 AP KRYZA

Mad Max: Fury Road, Movie Review

Fury Road is a nonsensical explodey fuckpile. We love it.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I left the theater feeling like I should take a shower. That’s how immersively Mad Max: Fury Road renders its batshit, dirt-punk world; I was sure I felt pieces of grit between my fingers as I   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

QDoc Film Festival

What documentaries to watch at the ninth annual LGBTQ fest.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The first openly gay player in the NBA, Jason Collins, retired last year amid a deluge of media coverage following his announcement about his sexuality in Sports Illustrated. Collins’ less-pub   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 PARKER HALL
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close