Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Iris

Grey Gardens’ documentarian profiles a 93-year-old fashion eccentric.


Movie Reviews & Stories
In Grey Gardens, Onassis relative Little Edie obsessively wraps and rewraps her head scarf to make it perfect, in a bedroom with holes in the walls and cat litter strewn around her feet. In Ir   More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 ENID SPITZ

Slow West

The Old West, with a Scotsman’s twist.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Slow West feels like propaganda made to discourage anyone from time-traveling back to the Old West. At one point, a man gets shot in the chest. As he falls, a stray bullet hits a salt jar on a    More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Elephant


Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: The 2003 film’s notoriously long shots wind through Portland’s former Whitaker Middle School at Northeast 39th Avenue and Killingsworth Street, a soul-sucking labyrinth    More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 WW MOVIE STAFF

AP Film Studies: Déjà View

Hitchcock and the art of the remake.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Our Facebook and Twitter feeds tell us a lot about the world. If we vaccinate our children, they will grow tentacles. Obama once ate a kitten. And Hollywood is perhaps the most prolific sexual p   More
 
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 AP KRYZA

Mad Max: Fury Road, Movie Review

Fury Road is a nonsensical explodey fuckpile. We love it.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I left the theater feeling like I should take a shower. That’s how immersively Mad Max: Fury Road renders its batshit, dirt-punk world; I was sure I felt pieces of grit between my fingers as I   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

QDoc Film Festival

What documentaries to watch at the ninth annual LGBTQ fest.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The first openly gay player in the NBA, Jason Collins, retired last year amid a deluge of media coverage following his announcement about his sexuality in Sports Illustrated. Collins’ less-pub   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 PARKER HALL

Gerry

The Gus Vant Sant retrospective continues


Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: It’s a fiercely artistic love letter from Portland’s most iconic filmmaker to Oregon’s most iconic author. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest writer Ken Kesey died in Plea   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 WW Staff

AP Film Studies: Split Personalities


Movie Reviews & Stories
Editor’s note: Substitute teacher Alex Falcone will graciously educate us while Professor AP Kryza takes maternity leave.  Unsurprisingly, adaptations of the 1886 novella Strange Case of Dr.   More
 
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 ALEX FALCONE , AP KRYZA

The D Train

Jack Black and James Marsden hook up for their high-school reunion.


Movie Reviews & Stories
High-school reunions are a golden opportunity to meet old friends, wax nostalgic and show the popular kids that you’re totally not a loser anymore. This is by no means a new trope. The D Train s   More
 
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 JOHN LOCANTHI

Heaven Adores You

Elliott Smith’s story told by his Portland compatriots.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The title is wrong. It sounds like a soft-focus TV movie about an angel who dreams of being a runway model. But Heaven Adores You is the most complete, least icky attempt to date at telling the stor   More
 
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 CASEY JARMAN
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close