Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

The Selfish Giant

It’s only teenage wasteland.


Movie Reviews & Stories
On the heels of Clio Barnard’s hailed debut, The Arbor, comes the equally devastating The Selfish Giant, in which the British writer-director again depicts a generation failed by an unsympatheti   More
 
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 AMANDA SCHURR

It’s Raining Men

Hallelujah, it’s a cinematic sausage party.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Apparently, the holidays this year are all about the men. That’s what you’d gather, at least, after browsing the list of holiday film releases. The Wolf of Wall Street might have some women,   More
 
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 WW MOVIE STAFF

That’s A Wrap

2013 was a good year at the cinema.


Movie Reviews & Stories
We live in a time of tyranny. Our oppressor? Choice. You think all those Netflix options are improving your quality of life? Think again. That’s why our brains love lists. Not only are they easi   More
 
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 REBECCA JACOBSON

The AP Film Awards

Not another top-10 list.


Movie Reviews & Stories
AP Film Studies is not immune from the urge to make year-end lists. But rather than churning out another boring-ass top 10, I’m holding an alternate awards ceremony, one that encompasses more    More
 
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 AP KRYZA

Glitz Gets Real

David O. Russell’s brilliant American Hustle finds truth in the con.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Director David O. Russell’s vision of America has always been Winesburg, Ohio, hopped up on trucker speed: a place of frantic grotesques distorted by their own need. In his new film, American Hu   More
 
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Inside Llewyn Davis

The Coen brothers hum a bittersweet tune.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Lovable losers abound in the films of Joel and Ethan Coen. Even the most ardent admirer of Raising Arizona’s H.I. McDunnough or The Big Lebowski’s the Dude would be hard-pressed to call either m   More
 
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 MICHAEL NORDINE

Saving Mr. Banks

Gag me with a spoonful of sugar.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Disney movies walk a fine line between warm-and-fuzzy feel-goodery and all-out cheese, but few straddle the line as frustratingly as Saving Mr. Banks. This is, after all, a film that casts Tom Han   More
 
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 AP KRYZA

AP Film Studies: Yippie-Ki-Yay, Father Xmas

Why we need R-rated holiday movies.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Editor’s Note: This column contains spoilers for It’s a Wonderful Life and Die Hard. If you have not seen these movies, something might be wrong with you. Please correct this travesty.  If   More
 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 AP KRYZA

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Now with less dishwashing.


Movie Reviews & Stories
When last we saw Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) and his band of dwarves, they were headed to confront a dragon. But along the way, they also took an awful lot of time to do the dishes and sing s   More
 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 AP KRYZA

The Armstrong Lie

Lie strong.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Even now, knowing all that we do about his deception, Lance Armstrong can be remarkably convincing. As he denies doping allegations in the documentary The Armstrong Lie, you’re still halfway i   More
 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 CURTIS WOLOSCHUK
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close