Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Man in the Can

Marvel kills it with the terrifically entertaining Iron Man 3.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The modern superhero trilogy has a very specific arc. There’s the origin story, in which an everyman stumbles into great power. In round two, the world turns on said hero as he faces greater t   More
 
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 AP KRYZA

Lovecraft on the Tabletop

How to scare the father of Doom.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Game designer Sandy Petersen isn’t afraid of anything. Well, almost anything. “The revelation that things are not as they seem—that’s scary to me,” says Petersen, the guest of honor   More
 
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 MITCH LILLIE

Gimme the Loot

Love and spray paint in the Bronx.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There is something crushingly genuine about Gimme the Loot. In part, it’s the playful simplicity of the plot: Two Bronx teens try to rise to graffiti infamy by tagging a giant plastic apple that   More
 
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 EMILY JENSEN

Girl Twirling

Terrence Malick’s To the Wonder is more mystifying than mind-blowing.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life overflowed with voice-over narration. His new film is practically an audiobook. Actually, “audiobook” is misleading: That would suggest To the Wonder’s    More
 
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 REBECCA JACOBSON

Mud

Growing up in a swift current.


Movie Reviews & Stories
As with many stories about coming of age under harsh circumstances, a mighty river runs through the center of Jeff Nichols’ Mud, a Southern-fried fable about two adolescent Arkansas boys whose c   More
 
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 AP KRYZA

It’s a Disaster

In which the movie’s title speaks for itself.


Movie Reviews & Stories
When writer-director Todd Berger was developing the characters for this apocalypse-themed dramedy, in which eight attendees at a couples’ brunch discover they’re about to die in a biochemical    More
 
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 EMILY JENSEN

The Company You Keep

Redford’s thriller can’t keep up with its actors.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Never mind that in real life, Weather Underground activists did not murder anyone in their anti-war radicalism of the early 1970s. In Robert Redford’s The Company You Keep, they did.  As    More
 
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 MITCH LILLIE

Room 237

All theory and no play makes Jack an obsessive.


Movie Reviews & Stories
We tend to project ourselves onto art. We take a story as a reflection of our own experiences, or we interject our own theories about what an artist really means. Every English teacher does it,    More
 
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 AP KRYZA

Trip And Slide

Danny Boyle’s Trance is a head trip that spins in on itself.


Movie Reviews & Stories
As best I can tell, Trance is the first film—outside porn, maybe—to have a plot that hinges on a woman’s pubic hair. Though the Goya painting that goes missing in the art-heist thriller is   More
 
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 REBECCA JACOBSON

Starbuck

Galactically dumb. Means well.


Movie Reviews & Stories
This is the sort of movie that critics were invented to despise: a crowd-pleasing, oafish, wildly implausible pile of sentimental dreck. But just like its main character, a French-Canadian meat-   More
 
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close