Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

The Decline of Western Civilization

Filmmaker Penelope Spheeris says her L.A. rock trilogy is her life’s work.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Wayne’s World director Penelope Spheeris earned a choice spot in the punk-rock pantheon by documenting the rowdy Los Angeles scene that spat Black Flag and the Germs into the world in her The    More
 
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

The 48 Hour Film Project

3 teams, 2 days, 1 lost cat and $31.50 in burritos.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The 48 Hour Film Project gives amateurs and veteran filmmakers an equal shot at showing their work at the Portland Film Festival—provided they can make a film in just two days.   More
 
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 ALLIE DONAHUE, JAY HORTON, AMY WOLFE

Fever Dreams

The Druid Underground Film Fest brings the crazy to Clinton Street.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Satan walks among us, and he has a big, red erection. Normally, the image of the Prince of Darkness casually strolling around full-mast would give a moviegoer pause. But at the Druid Undergrou   More
 
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 AP KRYZA

Cruising Along

Rogue Nation plays it safe. And that’s what saves this ship.


Movie Reviews & Stories
You’ve got lots of choices when it comes to actiony spy movies these days. You’ve got your Jameses Bond, your Jasons Bourne, your Kingsmen, and and and. So why come back to Mission: Impossible, th   More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Kids Aren’t Alright

Harry Potter is fine at 35. These kids aren’t.


Movie Reviews & Stories
J.K. Rowling’s cash cow, Harry Potter, turns 35 this week, sparking a series of celebrations around the world in which fans use the fictional birthday of a fictional wizard as a very real excuse to    More
 
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 AP KRYZA

Boogie Knights

Our picks for best drinking buddies in the Paul Thomas Anderson retrospective.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Paul Thomas Anderson’s best films, from his 1997 porn elegy Boogie Nights to last year’s psychedelic adaptation of Thomas Pynchon’s Inherent Vice, rank among the most important major releases of   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 JAY HORTON

Movie Review: Do I Sound Gay?

A documentarian tries to straighten his speech.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There is only one thing I look for in a successful documentary: Does it make me feel guilty about an issue I didn’t previously feel guilty about? Blackfish did, obviously, and Hoop Dreams, and all t   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The TriMet Trilogy

Portland filmmaker El Gato Negro wants hipsters to have a heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Howard Mitchell is old school. The Portland filmmaker behind the TriMet Trilogy showing at Mission Theater this Sunday cites such deadly earnest (and just plain dead) heavyweights as John Cassavetes,    More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

Dark and Stormy

NW Noir gets dark and divey.


Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s no surprise that Portland loves film noir. This is a city where throwback clothing is always in style. Rain and gloom drench our streets and seedy alleys. Shady developers—such a staple villa   More
 
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 AP KRYZA

Outside Amy’s Wheelhouse

Save yourself the ticket price of Apatow’s long ride.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I hate writing about comedians, because I love them too much. Amy Schumer is the absolute tops. She’s right about way more things than she’s wrong about, and she’s absolutely killing it on your    More
 
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 ALEX FALCONE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close