Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Room 237

All theory and no play makes Jack an obsessive.


Movie Reviews & Stories
We tend to project ourselves onto art. We take a story as a reflection of our own experiences, or we interject our own theories about what an artist really means. Every English teacher does it,    More
 
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 AP KRYZA

Trip And Slide

Danny Boyle’s Trance is a head trip that spins in on itself.


Movie Reviews & Stories
As best I can tell, Trance is the first film—outside porn, maybe—to have a plot that hinges on a woman’s pubic hair. Though the Goya painting that goes missing in the art-heist thriller is   More
 
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 REBECCA JACOBSON

Starbuck

Galactically dumb. Means well.


Movie Reviews & Stories
This is the sort of movie that critics were invented to despise: a crowd-pleasing, oafish, wildly implausible pile of sentimental dreck. But just like its main character, a French-Canadian meat-   More
 
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

42

Swing, and a miss.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Jackie Robinson is an American legend: The first black player to break Major League Baseball’s color barrier, he shouldered the hopes of a generation, weathering a flurry of abuse to open the ga   More
 
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 AP KRYZA

Rebel Ride

Two years on two wheels: radical homesteading and roadkill suppers.


Movie Reviews & Stories
A couple years ago, Noah Hussin didn’t eat roadkill. Now it makes his mouth water. In November 2010, Hussin and his brother Tim set out, on bicycles, to document communities of radical homestead   More
 
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 REBECCA JACOBSON

Thale

A tense Norwegian tale of the tailed.


Movie Reviews & Stories
A brief synopsis of Norwegian folklore: Nature is scary as shit, and everything’s out to get you. In a vast and frigid nation still so afraid of wolves it almost eradicates them each year, the   More
 
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

A Tapestry of Mediocrity

The Place Beyond the Pines bites off too much and accomplishes too little.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Among the things that made director Derek Cianfrance’s breakout feature, Blue Valentine, so powerful, touching and ultimately devastating was its extremely limited scope. This was an autopsy of    More
 
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 AP KRYZA

Plastic vs. Celluloid

Films based on toys: are they ever any good?


Movie Reviews & Stories
The latest film based on the G.I. Joe action figure, G.I. Joe: Retaliation, is not being screened for critics. Is there any chance it won’t be a steaming pile of shit? Our culture scientists ana   More
 
Wednesday, March 27, 2013 RUTH BROWN

War Witch

Childhood on the battlefield.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There isn’t a moment in War Witch, the Oscar-nominated breakout film from Canadian director Kim Nguyen, that isn’t covered by a thick layer of dread. From its opening sequence of a harrowing   More
 
Wednesday, March 27, 2013 AP KRYZA

On the Road

Mad to live­, as Kerouac would have wanted.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The journey to create a film version of Jack Kerouac’s 1957 ode to the Beat Generation, On the Road, has been a treacherous one. Over the years, Francis Ford Coppola, Gus Van Sant and Joel Schum   More
 
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 ROBERT HAM
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close