Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

GLOW: The Story of the Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling

Pia Zadora ruins everything.


Movie Reviews & Stories
When alums from TV’s Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling reunite in a Vegas hotel more than 20 years after their show was canceled, three show up in wheelchairs. A few of the ambulatory ones boast to   More
 
Wednesday, January 2, 2013 SAUNDRA SORENSON

Gus: Co-Directors

Local filmmakers Gus Van Sant and Todd Haynes talk fracking, MTV and old Portland.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Todd Haynes, the Portland-based Academy Award-nominated director of Velvet Goldmine, Far From Heaven and the Bob Dylan biopic I’m Not There agreed...   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 WW MOVIE STAFF

Gus Among Us: Jon Raymond

We asked four Portlanders for their perspectives on Gus Van Sant. Here’s what they said.


Movie Reviews & Stories
JON RAYMOND, Author I first laid eyes on Gus Van Sant sometime around 1990. It was at the Clinton Street Theater, and he was screening Mala Noche in the lead-up to the release of My Own Private Idaho   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 WW Staff

Gus Among Us: Aaron Mesh

We asked four Portlanders for their perspectives on Gus Van Sant. Here’s what they said.


Movie Reviews & Stories
AARON MESH, WW staff writer If you can bear it, now is the necessary time to return to Gus Van Sant’s Elephant. Next year marks the 10th anniversary of the director’s re-creation of the Colum   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 AARON MESH

Gus Among Us: James Westby

We asked four Portlanders for their perspectives on Gus Van Sant. Here’s what they said.


Movie Reviews & Stories
JAMES WESTBY, Filmmaker In Last Days, famous and troubled musician Blake (Michael Pitt) gets a visit from a Yellow Pages salesman. Blake is wearing a dress with combat boots and can barely speak.   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 WW MOVIE STAFF

Gus Among Us: Viva Las Vegas

We asked four Portlanders for their perspectives on Gus Van Sant. Here’s what they said.


Movie Reviews & Stories
VIVA LAS VEGAS, Author and stripper Once upon a time (this is a fairy tale), late on a Tuesday night at Mary’s Club, a posse of handsome, well-dressed men entered the bar and quietly took seats   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 WW MOVIE STAFF

The Best Things I Saw This Year 2012

Forget about a Top 10 list. Here are three Top Threes.


Movie Reviews & Stories
2012 has been a busy year on the WW film beat. In April, after five years at the helm, Aaron Mesh moved to the news desk. Matthew Singer replaced him until October, when he became music editor a   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 WW Staff

No Land of Milk and Honey

Gus Van Sant’s Promised Land wears its heart on its well-tailored sleeve.


Movie Reviews & Stories
There are shots in Gus Van Sant’s Promised Land that could be mistaken for shots in 1991’s My Own Private Idaho: beautiful pastoral scenes, rolling country roads   More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 REBECCA JACOBSON

Les Misérables

More of a nightmare than a dream.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Tom Hooper’s Les Misérables lives up to its name. With the exception of about 10 minutes, the nearly three-hour film is an endless wallow in the fields of squalor, filth, chancre and herpes.    More
 
Wednesday, December 26, 2012 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Unchained and Unrestrained

Quentin Tarantino’s Django Unchained is certainly cool. But is that enough?


Movie Reviews & Stories
Give Quentin Tarantino this much: He’s got balls. Imagine entering a meeting with a major studio, as a successful white director
   More
 
Wednesday, December 19, 2012 MATTHEW SINGER
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close