Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories
 

Tears for Joy

Tigard’s Joy Cinema cries for help.


Movie Reviews & Stories
It happens every Wednesday. Movie geeks, fueled by beer and pizza, flock by the dozens for a barrage of weirdness: grindhouse films so obscure even Tarantino might scratch his head. Schlocky horror. U   More
 
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 AP KRYZA

The Infinitesimal Sadness

Pixar’s Inside Out will make you laugh and cry. But mostly cry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
I cried at a Corona commercial a couple weeks back, so I’m not a good barometer for this kind of thing, but I wept during Inside Out, the new feature from the nearly flawless Pixar Animation Stu   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

AP Film Studies: Father’s Day Of Reckoning

What the movies have taught me about fatherhood.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Three months ago, my movie-viewing outlook changed dramatically. That happens when you become a first-time dad. Suddenly, with the birth of James Bodhi Thornhill Humungous Kryza, I find myself m   More
 
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 AP KRYZA

Clever Girl

A 10-year-old’s advice for surviving Jurassic World.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Yet again Hollywood decided it didn’t need my opinion of a major motion picture, so they screened it after my press deadline. But the man can’t hold me down! Instead of reviewing Jurassic Wo   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

The Nightmare: Movie Review

Sleep paralysis looks haunting in this new documentary.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Conveying the surreal power of dreams is nearly impossible, whether onscreen or in conversation. They have their own logic, of course, plus inexplicable time and hazy details that are difficul   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

AP Film Studies: Grant’s Land

His Girl Friday’s fast talk hides a deranged mind.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Hannibal Lecter managed to seduce the FBI’s top minds with his devious charm. Alex DeLarge controlled an army of droogs. Ferris Bueller duped the entire city of Chicago to do his bidding so he   More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 AP KRYZA

Love & Mercy

God only knows what happened to Brian Wilson.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Brian Wilson’s mental breakdown in the mid-1960s is as essential to the Beach Boys mythos as the band’s Pendleton shirts and woodies. Two TV movies and a Barenaked Ladies song told the sto   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 NATHAN CARSON

Milk


Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: Van Sant used Portlanders David, John, Paul and Peter Parson, of the Parson Berry Farm on Sauvie Island, as extras and stuntmen-in-training. In 2008, then-mayor-elect Sam A   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 WW MOVIE STAFF

AP Film Studies: Made In Oregon

Celebrating Oregon movies that aren’t The Goonies.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Whenever conversation turns to Oregon film, it invariably goes in two directions: either to Gus Van Sant or The Goonies. Just flip through this very newspaper. Hell, this weekend, Astoria has a go   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 AP KRYZA

Bro Say Can You See

Four douchebags make a movie about four douchebags making a movie.


Movie Reviews & Stories
You know who had a good Monday night? The bros who sat behind me at the Entourage screening. Oh boy, they had the time of their bro-y lives! Likes pigs in shit, those bros. ALEX FALCONEIllustrat   More
 
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 ALEX FALCONE
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close