Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories

The TriMet Trilogy

Portland filmmaker El Gato Negro wants hipsters to have a heart.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Howard Mitchell is old school. The Portland filmmaker behind the TriMet Trilogy showing at Mission Theater this Sunday cites such deadly earnest (and just plain dead) heavyweights as John Cassavetes,    More
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 CHRIS STAMM

Dark and Stormy

NW Noir gets dark and divey.

Movie Reviews & Stories
It’s no surprise that Portland loves film noir. This is a city where throwback clothing is always in style. Rain and gloom drench our streets and seedy alleys. Shady developers—such a staple villa   More
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 AP KRYZA

Outside Amy’s Wheelhouse

Save yourself the ticket price of Apatow’s long ride.

Movie Reviews & Stories
I hate writing about comedians, because I love them too much. Amy Schumer is the absolute tops. She’s right about way more things than she’s wrong about, and she’s absolutely killing it on your    More
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Tangerine: Movie Review

Hollywood filmed by iPhone has a lot of heart.

Movie Reviews & Stories
At first glance, Tangerine resembles a debut film. Shot on an iPhone and featuring two first-timers in the leading roles, Sean Baker’s fifth feature is full of creative decisions that would appear t   More
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 MICHAEL NORDINE

Mr. Holmes: Movie Review

In this case, even McKellen isn’t worth the buzz.

Movie Reviews & Stories
There’s a reason we don’t often follow our heroes into the sunset: It’s not that we don’t care what happens to them. It’s just that retirement is pretty boring and aging is depressing.    More
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 AP KRYZA

Hollywood Dreams

The rise and fall and rise of Portland’s true movie palace.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Looking at the Hollywood Theatre today, it would be reasonable to think that little has changed since its glory days, which spanned from the vaudevillian shows of 1926 to the Cinerama screenings start   More
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 AP KRYZA

Life/less: SELF/LESS, Reviewed

Ben Kingsley/Ryan Reynolds goes limp.

Movie Reviews & Stories
When a movie starts with a dumb idea and it’s badly executed, you can’t be that disappointed. It’s not a big waste. But when a great concept gets bungled, it feels like a loss. Like Cookie Crisp   More
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

Amy: Movie Review

Don’t even try to keep your eyes dry.

Movie Reviews & Stories
“I don’t think I’m going to be at all famous. I don’t think I could handle it.” Even if you followed Amy Winehouse’s career, it’s hard to keep from crossing your finger   More
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 LAUREN TERRY

The Wizard of Aaahs

OMSI psychoanalyzes Dorothy’s dreams.

Movie Reviews & Stories
During the past 76 years, people have spent a lot of time trying to get inside Dorothy’s pigtailed head in The Wizard of Oz. Scholars have pored over every frame of the 1939 film. Following the horr   More
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 AP KRYZA

The Third Man: Movie Review

The shadows are alive in a restored noir classic.

Movie Reviews & Stories
The past 66 years have been kind to Carol Reed’s The Third Man. It’s lauded as one of the finest examples of film noir and one of the greatest cinematic achievements of all time.    More
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 AP KRYZA

Web Design for magazines