Home · Articles · Movies · Movie Reviews & Stories

AP Film Studies: Déjà View

Hitchcock and the art of the remake.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Our Facebook and Twitter feeds tell us a lot about the world. If we vaccinate our children, they will grow tentacles. Obama once ate a kitten. And Hollywood is perhaps the most prolific sexual p   More
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 AP KRYZA

Mad Max: Fury Road, Movie Review

Fury Road is a nonsensical explodey fuckpile. We love it.

Movie Reviews & Stories
I left the theater feeling like I should take a shower. That’s how immersively Mad Max: Fury Road renders its batshit, dirt-punk world; I was sure I felt pieces of grit between my fingers as I   More
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 ALEX FALCONE

QDoc Film Festival

What documentaries to watch at the ninth annual LGBTQ fest.

Movie Reviews & Stories
The first openly gay player in the NBA, Jason Collins, retired last year amid a deluge of media coverage following his announcement about his sexuality in Sports Illustrated. Collins’ less-pub   More
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 PARKER HALL


The Gus Vant Sant retrospective continues

Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: It’s a fiercely artistic love letter from Portland’s most iconic filmmaker to Oregon’s most iconic author. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest writer Ken Kesey died in Plea   More
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 WW Staff

AP Film Studies: Split Personalities

Movie Reviews & Stories
Editor’s note: Substitute teacher Alex Falcone will graciously educate us while Professor AP Kryza takes maternity leave.  Unsurprisingly, adaptations of the 1886 novella Strange Case of Dr.   More
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 ALEX FALCONE , AP KRYZA

The D Train

Jack Black and James Marsden hook up for their high-school reunion.

Movie Reviews & Stories
High-school reunions are a golden opportunity to meet old friends, wax nostalgic and show the popular kids that you’re totally not a loser anymore. This is by no means a new trope. The D Train s   More
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 JOHN LOCANTHI

Heaven Adores You

Elliott Smith’s story told by his Portland compatriots.

Movie Reviews & Stories
The title is wrong. It sounds like a soft-focus TV movie about an angel who dreams of being a runway model. But Heaven Adores You is the most complete, least icky attempt to date at telling the stor   More
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 CASEY JARMAN

My Own Private Idaho

Movie Reviews & Stories
Why it’s Portlandy: What’s not Portlandy about a collective fever dream of eating Chinese noodles at Lamthong on Broadway (RIP) with a narcoleptic prostitute and Pre-Raphaelite Keanu Reeves?   More
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 WW Staff

AP Film Studies: Meanwhile, in Portland

Kung fu legends, tv cult classics and even more Arnold.

Movie Reviews & Stories
Editor’s note: AP Kryza has once again disappeared, leaving behind only a cryptic Google search history. We’re still trying to ascertain his whereabouts from phrases such as “Swayze etymol   More
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 AP KRYZA

Stop-Motion On A Roll

Northwest Animation Fest celebrates its fifth year with more than 250 films at the Hollywood Theatre.

Movie Reviews & Stories
The Northwest Animation Festival is bringing an anthropomorphic mammoth longing for cryogenic sleep, Medusa as a stay-at-home mom, and a competitive Iranian lifeguard to the Hollywood Theatre.   More
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 ENID SPITZ

Web Design for magazines