January 29th, 2009 5:33 pm | by Brandon Seifert Music | Posted In: Columns, News

Hush Records Releases Loch Lomond Digital Sampler EP

Loch LomondLast Friday, Loch Lomond and Hush Records introduced that whole "sustainability" thing to music: They released a digital EP made entirely out of recycled content.

Loch Lomond's new Trumpets For Paper Children EP, which is available for download on a "pay as you will" donation basis from Hush's website, will sound very familiar for the band's fans. It features two tracks off Loch Lomond's last two albums Paper the Walls and Lament For Children, plus "The Trumpet Song" off the 2007 split 12-inch the band did with the Builders and the Butchers through Bladen Country Records. But if you're already a fan, you're not who the EP is aimed at, explains Loch Lomond manager Christian Stavros.

"We decided to release the EP as such to give new people discovering the band a chance to check them out at a price they think is valid," Stavros says. "[We're] hoping they like it enough to dig in some more and buy some records. Times are tough these days, ya know?"

To download Trumpets for Paper Children, go to the Hush store and create a customer account. As a sampler of the, er, sampler, here's "The Trumpet Song," as heard on the EP and the Loch Lomond/Builders and Butchers vinyl split.


LochSpace LomondSpace
HushSpace RecordsSpace

Photo by Alicia J. Rose
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines