November 26th, 2008 5:33 pm | by WHITNEY HAWKE Music | Posted In: Columns, News

Badman Recording Co. Celebrates Double Digits with Free DigiComp

badmanPortland's very own Badman Recording Co. is turning a dime. And they're giving you free music to celebrate. This is my kind of party.

Badman has released a 12-track compilation, aptly titled Badman, Has It Really Been Ten Years?, which is available now as a free digital download on through's “Fall/Winter seasons."I don't know what that means, so just download it now to be safe. Tracks on the comp include Starfucker's “German Love,” Weinland's “Sick as a Gun,” and My Morning Jacket's “Sooner.”

Badman planted itself in Stumptown's music scene about two years ago (after uprooting from San Francisco). Headed by Dylan Magierek, Badman has released albums by Portland artists like Starfucker and Weinland, but also the mega-famous group My Morning Jacket. Magierek is also a partner at Portland's infamous Type Foundry recording studio, and records his own ethereal folk rock under the moniker Misc. (who also has a track on the compilation).

Badman is the second small Portland label this year releasing a complimentary 10-year anniversary compilation. The ever-so-kind people at Hush records released their comp, Deca, in July.

Badman, Has It Really Been Ten Years? on
Badman Recording Co.

My Morning JacketSpace

Photo courtesy of Badman Recording Co.
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines