September 21st, 2007 5:33 pm | by Paige Richmond Music | Posted In: Cut of the Day

Adrian Orange and Her Band, “Give to Love What’s Love's” from self-titled debut (K Records)

klp185Anyone who knows Adrian Orange as “Thanksgiving” will be slightly confused by his newest musical incarnation. The first obvious difference between the songs on Adrian Orange and Her Band's self-titled debut and Orange's earlier solo stuff as Thanksgiving is the symphonic backing band. This local folk wunderkind has moved from monotone vocals with a lone guitar to a 12-piece collaborative Afro-pop and funk project featuring the likes of Old Time Relijun's Benjamin Hartman.

Take “Give to Love What's Love's” as an example. Yes, the abundant horn parts—which, according to bass player Davis Hooker, were all written by Orange himself—is unlike anything on a Thanksgiving album. This is upbeat jam band music: Over the course of the album, everyone in the band sings a little; everyone plays a little.

But Adrian Orange and Her Band stands out from Orange's other projects because the music sounds, well, happy. The lyrics still meander a bit, remaining vague and poetic and focused on love, but there is just so much happening in the song—from a wailing saxophone solo to Orange's intense, cracking vocals—to distract from any air of melancholy.

Adrian Orange performs with his Adrian Orange and Her Band, at the Artistery at 8 pm tonight.


Thanksgiving at Marriage Records
Adrian Orange and Her Band on Myspace
Adrian Orange's K Records profile

Cover art from the album taken from
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines