The PDX Pop Now! compilation came our way today, and among the tunes on the epic 41-track compilation was this little number from the Minders. Now, you may be too young to remember the Minders, seeing as how they broke up way back in 2008 (sorry, old man Casey shining through), but we're talking about one of Portland's best bands. With roots in the storied Elephant 6 Collective, the Minders' focus on great pop songwriting with plenty of hooks was overshadowed only by its brilliance in the studio and in its formidable live shows.---

Now the Minders are back, and it's hard to hear "Needle Doll" without dreaming of an entire album around it. The lo-fi track, which bears hallmarks of the quirk-punk sound of bands like the Undertones and Soft Boys, is really just an excuse to rock out for two and a half minutes, but if the Minders' discography is any indicator—especially the band's masterful 2006 record Bright Guilty World—the eventual full-length will pack hook upon hook until the listener can barely stand it anymore. It's almost too much good stuff when the Minders make a record, from the ballads to the punk jams, and I for one could not be more excited to hear what they put together next.

Right now, though, the only way to hear the track is on the PDX Pop Now! comp, a two-disc behemoth that is always worth the humble asking price of $10 (that's like a quarter a song, which beats the shit out of iTunes). If you go to the release party show on June 2 at Holocene, the deal gets even better: The comp comes free with your $10 admission price. And it's an all-ages show at Holocene, which is something we're always pushing for.

Here's the full press release about PDX Pop Now, including all the info you could possibly want (except the info that hasn't been announced yet). Bolding is ours. Woohoo!


Pop Now! Unveils All-Ages CD Release Benefit and the Track Listing for the 2011



PDX Pop Now! --

Portland's premier DIY music festival, compilation and music advocacy organization

has announced the track listing for this year’s compilation and plans for the

CD Release Show. 


Portland music fans

will be pleased to find out that PDX Pop Now! has announced the track listing

for the eighth installment of their much heralded compilation. The 2-disc set

is stacked with 41 tracks from some of Portland OR’s finest musicians. O Bruxo,

Blue Skies For Black Hearts, Swahili, Lost Lander, along with DJ papi chulo and

DJ GIGANTE, have been tapped to perform and provide music between bands at this

year’s CD Release Benefit which will be held June 2nd at Holocene (1001 SE

Morrison St.). The cover is $10 and that will include a copy of the 2011 PDX

Pop Now! Compilation CD.  PDX Pop

Now! and Holocene have made special arrangements with the OLCC to allow minors

into the benefit, so this show is ALL-AGES!  The compilation and release show is brought to you in part

by generous sponsorships from opbmusic, RACC/Work for Art, vitaminwater,

Willamette Week, Cravedog, KBOO, KZME, Radio23, Reign Audio, CD Baby, Distiller

Promotions, Magnolia Management, NAIL Distribution, Oregon Arts Commission,

PRA, Presonus, Sound Advice, Jackpot Recording Studios.


As previously

announced, the 2011 PDX Pop Now! festival will be held July 22-24 at Refuge PDX

(116 SE Yamhill, Portland, OR 97214).


Watch the newly designed for 2011 PDX Pop

Now! Festival updates for bands, fans and volunteers.  PDX Pop Now! is brought

to you in part by OPB Music and Regional Arts and Culture Council. PDX Pop Now! and OPB Music have launched a monthly

PDX Pop Now! All-Ages Music Calendar. It can be found at


PDX Pop Now 2011

Compilation Track List

Disc 1:

1)            Forbidden

Friends – Tiny Hands

2)            the

Shivas – Gun In My Pocket

3)            Cool

Nutz – Monster Up

4)            O

Bruxo – De Colores

5)            Grouper

– Alien Observer

6)            Jared

Mees & the Grown Children – Hungry Like a Tiger

7)            Red

Fang – Wires

8)            Lovers

– Boxer

9)            Alan

Singley – Sauvie Island

10)            Reva

DeVito – Baby What You Do to Me

11)            Lost

Lander – Cold Feet

12)            Guantanamo

Baywatch – Clam Party

13)            Bright

Archer – Hidden Systems

14)            Purple

& Green – Right Here

15)            Blue

Skies for Black Hearts – Majoring in the Arts

16)            Wizard

Rifle – Tears Won't Soften Steel

17)            Jarad

Miles – Lazy Old Sun

18)            BOOM!

- Onomatopoeia

19)            the

Ascetic Junkies – (Don't) Panic

20)            Death

Songs – Wounds


Disc 2:

1)            Viva

Voce – Analog Woodland Song

2)            the

BellBoys – Somethin' In My Mind

3)            Headphone

Party – Strictly Stuntin'

4)            Witch

Mountain – Veil of the Forgotten

5)            Langhorne

Slim & the Law – Past Lives (live)

6)            Sex

Life – I Want You

7)            Swahili

– Soma

8)            Unknown

Mortal Orchestra – Thought Ballune

9)            Point

Juncture, WA – When You Wake Up It's Today

10)            the

Woodlands – In the Dark on Monday (Heavy Hands Remix)

11)            the

angry orts – the Trend

12)            Quiet

Countries – A Teeth Cutting

13)            Living

Proof – Caddy Music

14)            Johnny

Reno & the Vicemachine – Be Gorgeous & Be Gone

15)            Mojave

Bird – Roan Wolf

16)            Blouse

– Into Black

17)            On

the Stairs – Stand

18)            1939

Ensemble – Espérer

19)            Ben

Darwish – Under the Bright Red Sky

20)            the

Minders – Needle Doll

21)            Drew

Grow – King On Your Throne