September 14th, 2009 5:33 pm | by KELLY CLARKE News | Posted In: CLEAN UP, CLEAN UP

Lit Arts Announces Oregon Book Award Finalists; Honors Dog Readers.

Literary Arts just announced finalists for the 23rd annual Oregon Book Awards. Read 'em and weep (or cheer)—your choice. Matt Love, the high-school English teacher and longtime activist for Oregon Coast preservation behind the massive Citadel of the Spirit: Oregon's Sesquicentennial Anthology (read WW's review, here) is getting a nod as the recipient of the The Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award. And DoveLewis is getting props (aka The Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award) for its "Read to the Dogs Program of Portland," which pairs young readers with trained dog-and-handler teams. Anybody wanna make any winning predictions for the other categories? Matthew Dickman and his twin bro have been gettin' quite the buzz this year...

Winners will be announced Monday, October 26, 2009 at a big OBA shindig at the Gerding Theater at the Armory (get yer tix here). Here's the full list of nominees:
Ken Kesey Award For Fiction
Miriam Gershow of Eugene, The Local News (Spiegel & Grau)
Gina Ochsner of Keizer, The Russian Dreambook of Color and Flight (Portobello Books)
Barbara Pope of Eugene, Cezanne's Quarry (Pegasus Books)
Jon Raymond of Portland, Livability: Stories (Bloomsbury)
Leslie What of Eugene, Crazy Love: Stories (Wordcraft of Oregon)

Stafford/Hall Award For Poetry
Alicia Cohen of Portland, Debts and Obligations (O Press)
Matthew Dickman of Portland, All-American Poem (American Poetry Review)
Endi Bogue Hartigan of Portland, One Sun Storm (Center for Literary Publishing)
Andrew Michael Roberts of Portland, something has to happen next (University of Iowa Press)
Crystal Williams of Portland, Troubled Tongues (Lotus Press)

Frances Fuller Victor Award For General Nonfiction
Tracy Daugherty of Corvallis, Hiding Man: A Biography of Donald Barthelme (St.Martin's Press)
Bonnie Henderson of Eugene, Strand: An Odyssey of Pacific Ocean Debris (OSU Press)
John Laursen of Portland, Wild Beauty (OSU Press)
Donna Matrazzo of Portland, Wild Things: Adventures of a Grassroots Environmentalist (IUniverse)
Jeffrey St. Clair of Oregon City, Born Under a Bad Sky: Notes from the Dark Side of the Earth (AK Press)

Sarah Winnemucca Award For Creative Nonfiction
Bibi Gaston of The Dalles, The Loveliest Woman in America: A Tragic Actress, Her Lost Diaries, and Her Granddaughter's Search for Home (William Morrow)
Debra Gwartney of Finn Rock, Live Through This: A Mother's Memoir of Runaway Daughters and Reclaimed Love (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
John Kroger of Salem, Convictions: A Prosecutor's Battles Against Mafia Killers, Drug Kingpins, and Enron Thieves (Farrar, Strauss, Giroux)
Floyd Skloot of Portland, The Wink of the Zenith: The Shaping of a Writer's Life University of Nebraska Press)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award For Children's Literature

The winner in this category is Deborah Hopkinson of Corvallis, Keep On! The Story of Matthew Henson, Co-discoverer of the North Pole (Peach Tree)

Leslie Bradshow Award For Young Adult Literature
Carmen Bernier-Grand of Portland, Diego: Bigger Than Life (Marshall Cavendish)
David Greenberg of Portland, A Tugging String (Dutton)
Graham Salisbury of Lake Oswego, Calvin Coconut, Trouble Magnet (Wendy Lamb Books)
Roland Smith of Wilsonville, I.Q. Book One: Independence Hall (Harcourt Paperbacks)
Virginia Euwer Wolff of Oregon City, This Full House (Harper Teen)

Special Awards
The Stewart H. Holbrook Leterary Legacy Award

Matt Love of Newport

The Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award
The Dove Lewis Animal Assisted Therapy Program: Read to the Dogs Program of Portland
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines