Harper Lee's Racist New Book Shouldn't Destroy Your Love for Scout Finch


Books
I first saw the movie To Kill a Mockingbird when I was 6 and have loved Scout Finch ever since. As a willful tomboy, she spoke to me like no other character ever had. When I was older and read Harper    More
 
Tuesday, July 21, 2015 LIZZY ACKER

Lidia Yuknavitch, The Small Backs of Children: Book Review

L’art pour l’art.


Books
The plot of The Small Backs of Children (Harper, 240 pages, $24.99), by Portland indie darling Lidia Yuknavitch, is almost irrelevant. But here it is anyway: A writer gives up on life because of grief   More
 
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 LIZZY ACKER

H.W. Brands, Reagan: The Life: Book Review

Another one for the Gipper.


Books
Republicans deify him. The Tea Party tries to remake him in its own image. But as H.W. Brands reminds us in his new biography, Reagan: The Life (Doubleday, 816 pages, $35), not even Ronald Reagan    More
 
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 MATT BUCKINGHAM

Michaelangelo Matos, The Underground Is Massive: Book Review


Books
It’s right on the damn cover: “EDM,” highlighted in the divisive and corporate genre tag’s unofficial color, hot pink. Considering the inside pages, the placement of that term on the cov   More
 
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 MITCH LILLIE

Sam Quinones, Dreamland: Book Review

A nation nods off.


Books
In March of 2013, WW ran a cover story titled “Who Wants to Save a Junkie?” It described a drug, Narcan, that could snap users out of heroin overdoses. By then, American OD deaths from opi   More
 
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 AARON MESH

Jon Ronson, So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed

Everybody must get stoned.


Books
On Dec. 20, 2013, Justine Sacco, a PR rep for Tinder parent company IAC, tweeted a very poorly received joke: “Going to Africa. Hope I don’t get AIDS. Just kidding. I’m white!” By th   More
 
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Mark Adams, Meet Me in Atlantis

Somewhere, beneath the sea…


Books
Every clue to the final resting place of the lost city of Atlantis comes from a single, ancient source: the Greek philosopher Plato. And even he heard the story eighth-hand, passed down from a d   More
 
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 MATT BUCKINGHAM

Scott Timberg, Culture Crash

You’re Kanye or you’re no one.


Books
Last November, Jack Conte of the California indie-pop duo Pomplamoose penned a blog post on the plight of the modern indie-rock band. “Being in an indie band,” Conte wrote, “is running a n   More
 
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 PETE COTTELL

Richard Ford, Let Me Be Frank With You

Hell and high wind.


Books
Perhaps it’s inevitable that any attempt at the Great American Novel written today would end in ruins. Like John Updike’s Rabbit series, Richard Ford’s four Frank Bascombe books have been on   More
 
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

0|1
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close