A Most Wanted Man

The spy who bored me.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Had it been released a year ago, nobody would have taken notice of A Most Wanted Man, a gratingly bland espionage thriller set in post-9/11 Hamburg. But director Anton Corbijn’s thriller happens   More
 
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 AP KRYZA

Movie Review: The Trip to Italy

On the road again.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The phrase “it is what it is” is a plague on the English language. But in the case of The Trip to Italy, a sequel to 2010’s The Trip, the intrinsic nature of the film—established by its pr   More
 
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 MATTHEW SINGER

Movie Review: Frank

The head and the heart.


Movie Reviews & Stories
At first glance, Frank seems like twee hipster bait. It’s about a struggling songwriter. Tweets flash onscreen like in a millennial episode of Pop-Up Video. It treats Austin—and specifically S   More
 
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 AP KRYZA

The One I Love

Hit the reset button.


Movie Reviews & Stories
The One I Love is the sort of film that prompts critics to fill their reviews with warnings of spoilers and hammy pronouncements that “to reveal more would spoil the fun.” That overstates    More
 
Wednesday, August 20, 2014 REBECCA JACOBSON

Movie Review: Portland Director Aaron Katz's Land Ho!

Land Ho! spots a new brand of comedy on Aaron Katz’s horizon.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Aaron Katz has come a long way since his last film, 2010’s cutesy mystery Cold Weather. For Land Ho!, the Portland-born Katz and co-director Martha Stephens travel to Iceland, where two geezers    More
 
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 MITCH LILLIE

Movie Review: What If

When Harry met Chantry.


Movie Reviews & Stories
Love makes heavy demands of young Torontonians. First, Michael Cera had to battle his girlfriend’s evil exes in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. Now in What If, Daniel Radcliffe faces a potentially    More
 
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 CURTIS WOLOSCHUK

Movie Review: Calvary

Truth will out.


Movie Reviews & Stories
John Michael McDonagh’s Calvary is not a film that shies away from big questions: about life and death, faith and doubt, virtue and sin. It also doesn’t shy away from eccentric personaliti   More
 
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 REBECCA JACOBSON

Shellacked: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Reviewed

capture_wide-5ef4eda6da4fed6892581de205c420120794de92-s40-c85

Movies & Television
Critic's Grade: C Back on the silver screen with big, gawky teeth rendered in detailed motion-capture glory, the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is loud, incoherently directed, brash, obnoxious and packed with enough product placement to fill a NASCAR track. Which is to say, it’s kind of exactly what a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle movie should be, for good or ill.  Long ago, when it was ...   More
 
Friday, August 8, 2014 AP KRYZA

0|1
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close