Lay Off the Sauce

No, Lake Oswego’s Pine Shed Ribs is not the best barbecue in Portland.


Food Reviews & Stories
Earlier this month, Stephen Colbert’s sister lost a congressional election to philandering former South Carolina Gov. Mark Sanford. In response, the TV host shunned his home state, declaring a   More
 
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Via Chicago


Food Reviews & Stories
It’s been seven years since I lived in Chicago, where I attended college, drinking too much Midwestern beer and cramming as much of the city’s famous stuffed pizza into my maw as my student bu   More
 
Wednesday, May 8, 2013 ANDREA DAMEWOOD

In a Neat Little Roe

Former Fin chef Trent Pierce works wonders in Wafu’s back room.


Food Reviews & Stories
Going to Roe is a bit like passing into the Egyptian afterlife. Before you reach its peaceful space, you must first pass through the land of wish fulfillment—in this case, the lively food tunn   More
 
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Creature Comforts

Kingdom come, in Portland as it is in McMinnville. But who’s game?


Food Reviews & Stories
The Kingdom of Roosevelt’s menu may be a minor literary work, short prose that begins with “Fallow deer heart tartare with his marrow,” continues to “Eggs in various forms” and closes on   More
 
Wednesday, March 27, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Behind the Volcano


Food Reviews & Stories
Only a few years ago, Montavilla’s reputation revolved around car lots and hookers. That stretch of 82nd Avenue is still a great place to find a 2008 Silverado, but on a recent Friday night, the   More
 
Wednesday, March 13, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

Bar Dobre


Food Reviews & Stories
I fear saying good things about a still-obscure Polish spot like Bar Dobre. The last time WW brought attention to one (Grandpa’s Cafe), it made itself membership-only. Well, fingers crossed: The   More
 
Wednesday, February 20, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Simply Fed

Goat’s the go-to dish at a new Vietnamese spot on 82nd Avenue.


Food Reviews & Stories
Simply Vietnamese is anything but. Or, at least, it’s not one of the myriad bun or pho or banh mi shops that Portlanders have grown accustomed to. The menu is one of the most distinctive among   More
 
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 MATTHEW KORFHAGE

Ava-Garde

A user’s guide to Duane Sorenson’s offbeat Italian joint.


Food Reviews & Stories
Why was my beer coming in bottles? Tap handles hang behind the bar at Ava Gene’s, the new Italian restaurant from coffee kingpin Duane Sorenson, and the tables   More
 
Wednesday, January 30, 2013 MARTIN CIZMAR

0|4
 

Web Design for magazines

Close
Close
Close