The Oregon Beer Awards select and recognize our state's top beers in 14 categories, and honor Oregon's exceptional breweries, bars and festivals in six additional categories. Tickets to the awards ceremony on February 23 at Revolution Hall are on sale now, and winners will be revealed during this "Emmys-style" evening. The Oregon Beer Awards are produced by Willamette Week, with help from Ben Edmunds, brewmaster at Breakside Brewery, and Ezra Johnson-Greenough of Portland Beer Week.

Event Tickets

Tickets to the awards ceremony are on sale starting Wednesday, January 20. Each $15 ticket includes a pint of award-winning beer, Bunk Bar sandwich samples and a $2 donation to Oregon Wild and the Oregon Brewshed® Alliance program. Brewer band Black Lodge (Ron Gansberg, John Harris) and Master of Ceremonies and comedian Amy Miller bring entertainment to the evening.


Gold, silver and bronze awards will be given in the following categories at 2016's Oregon Beer Awards:




Classic Styles (Lagers, Ales, Brown, Amber, Red, etc.)

Belgian Beers

Sessionable Hoppy Beers (6% ABV or lower)

Experimental Beers

Flavored Beers

Fruit and Field Beers

Sour & Wild Beers

Barrel-Aged Beers

Strong Hoppy Beers (7.5%+)

Dark Hoppy Beers

American IPA (6.1% – 7.5%)

Best Beer Bar

Best Beer Festival

Best Brewpub Experience

Best Bottle Shop

Best New Brewery

Brewery of the Year

OBA 2016 Blind Tasting Judging Panel

Lisa Allen – Heater Allen Brewery

Jeff Alworth – Beervana, The Beer Bible

Natalie Baldwin – Burnside Brewing Co.

Jason Barbee – Ex Novo Brewing

Sam Barber – Brewer

Trever Bass – Hopworks Urban Brewery

Tom Bowers – Merchant du Vin

Sean Burke – The Commons

Lucy Burningham – Beer Writer

Whitney Burnside – 10 Barrel Brewing PDX

Jonathan Carmean – Belmont Station

Martin Cizmar – Willamette Week

Brendan Cocks – Growler Guys Portland

Tonya Cornett – 10 Barrel Brewing

Kevin Davey – Brewer

Charlie Devereux – Brewer George Dimeo- Maletis Beverage

Ben Dobler – Widmer Brothers

Pete Dunlop – Beervana Buzz

Beau Evers – Crosby Hops

Teri Fahrendorf – Road Brewer

Jamie Floyd – Ninkasi Brewing

Nick Funnell – Brewers Supply Group

Alex Ganum – Upright Brewing

Abe Goldman-Armstrong – Cider Riot

Jon Graber – Micromatic

Josh Grgas – The Commons

Parker Hall – Willamette Week Beer Writer

Rik Hall – Baerlic Brewing

Mike Hunsaker – Fat Head's Brewery PDX

Erika Huston – Logsdon Farmhouse Ales

Ezra Johnson-Greenough – The New School

Ben Kehs – Deschutes Brewery PDX

Dustin Kellner – Worthy Brewing Erin Grey Kemplin- Ecliptic Brewing

Rodney Kibzey – BJCP

Andrew Lamont – Old Town Brewing Co.

Kyle Larsen – Double Mountain Brewery & Taproom

Jacob Leonard – Breakside Brewery

Gavin Lord – pFriem Family Brewers

Waylon McAllister – Metalcraft Fabrication

Kat Martin – Maletis Beverage

Ritch Marvin – Home Brewer

Jared McClintock – JVNW

Lisa Morrison – Belmont Station

Ben Parsons – Baerlic Brewing

Josh Pfriem – pFriem Family Brewing

Geoff Phillips – Bailey's Taproom

Chuck Porter – Brewer

Clark Prather – Saraveza

Don Scheidt – Celebrator Beer News

Bill Schneller – BJCP

Kevin Shaw – Buoy Beer

Jesse Shue – Golden Valley Brewing

Hilda Stevens – Bazi Bierbrasserie

Matt van Wyk – AleSong Brewing and Blending

Veronica Vega – Deschutes Brewery

Amity Worden –

Drew Worden –

Shane Watterson – Laurelwood Brewery and Public House

Darron Welch – Pelican Pub & Brewery

Tyler West – Oakshire Brewing Co.

Rob Widmer – Widmer Brothers Brewing

Jackson Wyatt – NWIPA

Jeremie Landers – Oregon Brew Crew (Lead Steward)

Ben Edmunds – Breakside Brewery (Competition Director)

Voting Academy Application Form

OBA also includes a pool of hundreds of industry insiders who will select the winners in the categories not included in the blind tasting competition. Want to join the Voting Academy? Please apply by filling out this form. Do forward this to others who'd be great voters, too. Voting happens digitally in January 2016.

Best Brewpub Experience

Best Beer Bar

Best Bottle Shop

Best Beer Festival

Best New Brewery

Brewery of the Year

Oregon Beer Awards' Hall of Fame presented by JVNW

The judging panel and Voting Academy will vote to induct one person into the inaugural OBA Hall of Fame presented by JVNW. The inductee will be honored during a special part of the program on February 23.


Thank you to our growing list of event partners:

Bazi Bierbasserie



Brewers Supply Group

Brewvana Brewery Tours

The Civic Taproom

Columbia Distributing

Country Malt Group

Digital Pour

Eco Firma Farms

General Distributors

Goose Hollow


Great Western Malting

The Growler Guys


Maletis Beverage

Metalcraft Fabrication

The New School Beer


Oregon State University

Point Blank Distributing

Portland Craft Beer Fest

Revolution Hall + Mississippi Studios

River Pig Saloon


For results from 2015's Oregon Beer Awards, go here.

Please contact with questions.

Interested in sponsoring the Oregon Beer Awards? Please contact Steph at for more information.