July 12th, 2010 5:33 pm | by MICHAEL MANNHEIMER Music | Posted In: Columns, News

Corin Tucker Reveals Debut Album Details

Corin TuckerIs Corin Tucker secretly a Twi-mom? Pitchfork has the details on Tucker's debut solo album, which is being credited to the Corin Tucker Band and features Sara Lund of Unwound and Seth Lorinczi of Golden Bears and Blue Giant. The biggest surprise (besides the already reported details that the record—featuring lots of acoustic guitar, interlocking percussion, and even cellos and violins—is not just another Sleater-Kinney affair) is that a few of the songs were written for the Twilight: New Moon soundtrack but didn't make the cut. Yep, this isn't a Dig Me Out redux. The record, titled 1,000 Years, is out on October 5 via local all-star label Kill Rock Stars. It's also accurately named: though Sleater-Kinney's final masterpiece, The Woods, came out in 2006, it sure has felt like 1,000 years for us hardcore S-K fans waiting for new material. The Corin Tucker Band plays an official release show at the Aladdin Theater on Thursday, October 7, but take note that it's also playing September 10 at the Alberta Rose Theater for a taping of Live Wire. Sneak peak! Here's the tracklist:

01 1,000 Years
02 Half a World Away
03 It's Aways Summer
04 Handed Love
05 Doubt
06 Dragon
07 Riley
08 Pulling Pieces
09 Thrift Store Coats
10 Big Goodbye
11 Miles Away

Kill Rock Stars

Photo by John Clark
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines