This has been a great year for music fans, and it's not even over yet. In 2008, Portlanders saw unprecedented national attention on their own rapidly blooming music scene, and nationally, it was a year of both stylistic and economic experimentation­­­—as the old music industry crumbles, all the unspoken rules of genre and radio friendliness seem to finally be shaking off.

It's in the midst of this new musical frontier that this year's MusicfestNW pairs exciting new national acts (No Age, TV on the Radio) with some old favorites (Polvo, Seaweed) and a hearty chunk of the best Portland has to offer (the Shaky Hands, Starfucker). More venues, more bands, and more big names than ever before. We are pretty darn proud of this year's fest and we'd put it right up there with all those other festivals you've been reading about on your favorite blog. But MusicfestNW has one big advantage over all those other festivals: It's in Portland.
Casey Jarman
Music Editor, Willamette Week

Casey Jarman

Assistant Editor
Michael Mannheimer

Erik Bader, Annie Bethancourt, Nathan Carson, Devan Cook, Ray Cummings, Chandler Frederick, Whitney Hawke, Jay Horton, Casey Jarman, AP Kryza, Lance Kramer, Aaron Mesh, Michael Mannheimer, Nilina Mason-Campbell, Amy McCullough, Sara Moskovitz, Jeff Rosenberg, Brandon Seifert, Mark Stock, Joe Watts.

Copy Editors
Kat Hyatt, Matt Buckingham, Margaret Seiler, Leigh Van Der Werff.

Art Director
Tom Humphrey

Snow Blackwood, Brian Brown, Nicholas Curtin, Maggie Gardner, Soma Honkanen, Ben Mollica, Christie Wright.

MusicfestNW 2008 Advisory Board
Byron Beck, Jimi Biron, Ashley Brown, Hannah Carlen, Allison Carter, Lee Cohen, Terry Currier, Fasil Debeb, Rachel Demy, Bruce Fife, Kevin French, Maggie Gardner, Tyra Grove, Andrea Haack, Mike Hare, Tom Humphrey, Casey Jarman, Eric Johnson, Matt King, Mike King, Anne Koch, Matt Manza, Amy McCullough, Richard Meeker, Dawn Pierson, Alicia Rose, David Sanford, Peter Shaver, Jessica Sword, Mike Thrasher, Dan Winters, Christie Wright, Mark Zusman.

MusicfestNW Staff
Richard Meeker, president; Trevor Solomon, executive director; Shawna McKeown, controller; Andrea Manning, cash queen; Tom Humphrey, art director; Connie Wohn, marketing director; Matthew King, volunteer director; Madeleine Zusman, intern.

Special Thanks
360 Vinyl, Mark Baumgarten, Greg Berard, Tim Bergevin, Max Bauske, Matt Brown, Malcolm Campbell, Ezra Caraeff, Kevin Cole, Kevin Costa, Todd Crosby, Michael Fitzgerald, Kristi Gordon, Adriana Guerrero, Chris Hodge, Kevin Imamura, Jackpot Records, Aaron James, Jeb at Maax, Abby Jennings, Donald Kenney, Travis Labbe, Jason Lajeunesse, Marshall Levine, Jim Lillis, Conrad Loebl, Seann McKeel, Music Millennium, Jake Newman, Dan O'Conor, Christian Parkes, Stephanie Rosen, John Rowe, Bobby Sanders, Scott at OPB, Steven Severin, Sponsors of MFNW 2008, Ticketswest, Isac Walter, Cheryl Waters, Weiden & Kennedy & the Willamette Week staff.