August 17th, 2010 5:33 pm | by MICHAEL MANNHEIMER Music | Posted In: Columns, News

Copy Wants to Make You "Breakfast"

copyThe wait is over. It seems like ages (too many years!) since we've heard any new recorded material from one-man electropop master Copy. But it's not like Marius Libman has been hiding behind a tree branch since 2007—since the release of his second full-length, Hair Guitar, he's put out remixes, joined two new bands (playing bass with Atole and Astrology) and continued to DJ around town. Surely, the kids didn't forget about Copy, and Libman's set out to remind everyone why his sound is so essential with "Breakfast," the first single from his brand new record, Hard Dream.

Hard Dream is, according to press release lore, inspired by a horror movie concept by Libman's friend, performance artists Joe Von Appen. "Breakfast" definitely has a darker vibe than the partycity jams of Hair Guitar, but it still rides the same kick and analog keyboard (keytar?) riffs as his best work. It's both propulsive and sentimental, dance music that you can move to and feel in your heart. I'm really digging this, and I can't wait to talk to him about the new material.


Hard Dream drops on September 21 on Audio Dregs, and Copy's got a release show scheduled for Friday, September 17 at Rotture. Here's the tracklist and all the press release info you could ever want:

1. One Less Time
2. Shoots
3. Breakfast
4. Something
5. I Can Smell It
6. Real Scared
7. It Could Have Been More
8. I Didn't Know
9. On One Condition
10. Stay Away From It

copy album

Named after a horror movie concept created by friend and Portland DJ/performance artist Joe Von Appen, Hard Dream is loosely intended as a score to the un-filmed movie; part synth pop, part electro, part Italo disco, with a twist of Ratatat, and a dash of John Carpenter. Copy's third album for Audio Dregs sheds a slightly darker thriller vibe than the previous two, kicking off with a long arpeggiated intro that creeps in for a full two minutes before the beat breaks through the dark clouds; taking us from the twinkly bliss of "Shoots" into "Breakfast"'s frenetic maze of driving beats and closing with the triumphant 8-bit punk of "Stay Away From It".

Raised on the likes of Minor Threat, De La Soul, Tortoise and Mahavishnu Orchestra, later playing in prog and punk bands, and eventually going DJ and record store clerk, Marius has always been musically obsessed with a variety of genres. Citing OMD, Fugazi and Dr. Dre as some of his biggest influences he somehow manages to incorporate such disparate elements into an extremely focused and appealing sound - both nostalgic and forward thinking at the same time. Whether carrying ecstatic dancers with the bass and beats or tickling the ears of the more finely tuned listener who wants to get lost in the journey that the melody has to offer, Copy brings the noise in his own distinctive style

Copy Blog
Audio Dregs

Photo courtesy of Copy
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines