June 4th, 2010 5:33 pm | by MICHAEL MANNHEIMER Music | Posted In: Columns, News

The Thermals Will Change Your Life

The Thermals "Personal Life"Hutch, Kathy and Westin are back—and this time things are getting personal. As reported this morning on Pitchfork (and previewed here on LocalCut some months back), lovable Portland pop punks the Thermals are set to drop their new record, titled Personal Life, on September 7 via local label Kill Rock Stars. Though it's a rumor that's been floating around for a while—especially if you follow Kill Rock Stars' Maggie Vail on Facebook, as she's been putting things like "Personal Life" and "I'm Gonna Change Your Life" as her status updates for months—it's nice to get actual confirmation that this thing is really coming out at the end of the summer. The Thermals are playing on September 9 at the Crystal Ballroom as part of Willamette Week's own MusicfestNW, and guess what? It's a CD release show. I'll be the one in front shouting along to every word.

The tracklist:

01 I'm Gonna Change Your Life
02 I Don't Believe You
03 Never Listen to Me
04 Not Like Any Other Feeling
05 Power Lies
06 Only for You
07 Alone, A Fool
08 Your Love Is So Strong
09 A Reflection
10 You Changed My Life

Personal Life was recorded in town with Death Cab For Cutie's Chris Walla behind the boards, and from all accounts it's poppier and more '90s alt-rock leaning than the band's past efforts. The first single, "I Don't Believe You," is not out until August, but until then we can always rock out to old Thermals material. As far as I know, the song is NOT a Magnetic Fields cover, though that would be super rad as well. Maybe Hutch and Kathy can cover that acoustic style for the B-side?

The ThermalSpace
Kill Rock Stars

Image courtesy of the Thermals
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
comments powered by Disqus

Web Design for magazines